It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
2020 Fall Teaching Resources from the Remote 2.0 Committee: Finding Existing Content Online
Curated resources for faculty reviewed by members of the Remote 2.0 subcommittee.
Don't Reinvent the Wheel: Use Existing Online Content
Remember we are not the first school to deliver content remotely. Many others have gone before us. Don't feel like you need to create all of your course content from scratch.
Library databases offer 24/7 access to journals, magazines, books, and streaming media to anyone with W&J login credentials through the library website. Using online library content is important, as best practices for library materials recommend a 72-hour quarantine of all returned materials. This includes materials that would be used in-house like physical reserves and reference type materials. Library hours may also be reduced.
Take advantage of existing open educational resources like YouTube or Kahn Academy Videos, open textbooks, material from scholarly and professional associations, and assignments & syllabi shared online.
This library database provides access to over 64,000 streaming media titles spanning many disciplines. A sampling of titles Included in this database are: full-length feature films from Sony Pictures Classics; full-length documentaries from the BBC; content from PBS; and many other films and shows.
If you can only view sample video clips, please follow these steps:
From the sample view page, please press the "Esc" key 3 times rapidly and this will pop up a diagnostics report with your IP address. Click "Refresh session" -> "OK" and wait for a few seconds for the page to reload. If the problem persists, please take a screenshot of the page showing a sample view and a screenshot of the diagnostics page showing the IP address and send both screenshots to asklib@washjeff,edu
Faculty Select empowers academic libraries to directly support textbook affordability efforts. Through a single interface, faculty can search and access quality open textbooks, Open Educational Resources (OER), and request access to unrestricted library e-books from top academic publishers. By leveraging free open materials and low-cost library-licensed resources, faculty can transform their courses and reduce the cost burden for students.
Are you considering asking your students to watch a film or TV show that is not freely available online or through the library's streaming database? Check here to find out where it's streaming and estimated rental costs so you can inform your students of course requirements and any potential fees.
The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.
The Mason OER Metafinder helps you find Open Educational Resources. Unlike other OER discovery sites (e.g, OER Commons, OASIS, MERLOT, OpenStax, etc.) with our Metafinder you aren’t searching a static database that we’ve built. Instead, the OER Metafinder launches a real-time, simultaneous search across 22* different sources of open educational materials as you hit the Search button.
* during this COVID-19 pandemic, we’ve added the National Emergency Library as a search target.
Because it is a real-time, federated search, it can take a bit longer than searches of pre-indexed, curated content; however, as compensation the results returned are absolutely up-to-the-minute for each search target. Additional results will continue to trickle in as the search continues running and you begin examining your results.
A distinct feature of the Mason OER Metafinder is the scope of our discovery service. We’re searching well-known OER repositories like OpenStax, OER Commons, MERLOT but also sites like HathiTrust, DPLA, Internet Archive and NYPL Digital Collections where valuable but often overlooked open educational materials may be found.
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free. And backed by additional learning resources. Review our OpenStax textbooks and decide if they are right for your course. Simple to adopt, free to use. We make it easy to improve student access to higher education.
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 721 textbooks, with more being added all the time.