Skip to main content
Link to Washington and Jefferson College

Alumni/Visitor Services: Overview

Alumni Services

The U. Grant Miller Library is pleased to offer the following services to alumni of Washington & Jefferson College.

ALUMNI BORROWING

In order for alumni of Washington & Jefferson College to have borrowing privileges at U. Grant Miller Library, s/he must come to the Library to receive an alumni card. There is no charge for this card. Services available include borrowing material from the Library's collections. Please see the Library's borrowing policy for details.

Materials made available for checkout include books, CDs, and plays. Current and bound periodicals are available for in-house use only. Alumni are welcome to visit The Learned T. Bulman '48 Archives & Museum and the Library's special collections. For hours, please contact Kelly Helm, College Archivist.

RESEARCH SERVICES

Alumni may make use of the research services provided by the Library's staff. Hours are posted at the research services desk or may be obtained by calling 724-223-6072. The Ask-a-Librarian service provides online access to the Library's reference services.

COMPUTER USE

Alumni and Retired Faculty & Staff may be given computer access.  For more information, visit the User Services Desk.

REMOTE ACCESS

Remote access to the Library's catalog is freely available via the Web. You can access it at http://wjco.sirsi.net. Remote access to the U. Grant Miller Library Digital Archives is also available free of charge. Other Library databases are available for research, but can only be accessed in the Library with the assistance of a staff person.

PHOTOCOPYING

You may use the coin-operated photocopying facilities.  Copies are .10 cents per page.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

We regret that the Interlibrary Loan service is only available to current faculty, staff, and students. We encourage you to use your local public library to obtain books and articles on Interlibrary Loan.

User Services at a glance

User services policies are designed to ensure that materials are returned on time and in good condition for use by as many people as possible.

Present your library card at the user services desk along with the items you wish to borrow. Borrowed items must be returned by the date stamped on each item's date due slip. You are responsible for any fines or replacement charges incurred on your card. Borrowers must have an I.D. card to check out materials from the Library. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to call our main number (724) 223-6070.

Policy at a glance:

  • Book loan period is 3 weeks.
  • Overdue fines are $.10 per day per item.
  • Periodicals & Newspapers do not circulate.

Complete Guide to Loans and Fines

RENEWING MATERIALS

Renewals are permitted for items that do not have a hold or recall placed on them.

Materials may be renewed:

  • in person at the user services desk
  • by phone to the user services desk: 724-223-6070

Community Borrowers and Members of the Public

The U. Grant Miller Library is pleased to offer the following services to community users.

Community Borrowers must meet the following criteria:

  1. Be a resident of Washington County
  2. Provide a photo ID that shows current address on it, or a photo ID along with a current utility bill with Washington County address on it

Community Borrowers under 18 years old:

  1. Must have parent/guardian present during application
  2. Parent or guardian must sign the library card along with the applicant while both are present in the Library
  3. Parent or guardian must provide proof of residence in Washington County as stated above

 

COMMUNITY USER BORROWING

In order for a community user to have borrowing privileges at U. Grant Miller Library, s/he must come to the Library to receive a community user card. There is no charge for this card. Please see the Library's borrowing policy for details.

RESEARCH SERVICES

Community Users may make use of the research services provided by the Library's staff. Hours are posted at the research services desk or may be obtained by calling 724-223-6072. The Ask-a-Librarian service provides online access to the Library's reference services.

COMPUTER USE

Priority for use of the U. Grant Miller Library computers is given to W&J Students, Faculty, and Staff.  Community Users may use one of the computers designated for public use with a limit of 30 minutes per day, unless otherwise directed by a librarian.  Printing is available for .10 cents per page for black and white; color is .50 cents per page.

REMOTE ACCESS

Remote access to the Library's catalog is freely available via the Web. You can access it at http://wjco.sirsi.net. Remote access to the U. Grant Miller Library Digital Archives is also available free of charge. Other Library databases are available for research, but can only be accessed in the Library with the assistance of a staff person.

PHOTOCOPYING

You may use the coin-operated photocopying facilities.  Copies are .10 cents per page.

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

We regret that the Interlibrary Loan service is only available to current faculty, staff, and students. We encourage you to use your local public library to obtain books and articles on Interlibrary Loan.