Special Collections: Archives

Access to the archives and special collections is by appointment only.

Please email sbligh@washjeff.edu or asklib@washjeff.edu for an appointment or if you have any questions.

In addition to the resources in the Archives, researchers may find the following organizations useful regarding genealogy and local history.

The Learned T. Bulman ’48 Historic Archives & Museum has material that dates from the 15th century to the present-day related to Washington & Jefferson College, its history and the research concerns of its students and faculty.  

The collection comprises rare books, student and faculty theses, college publications, artwork and research including documents, personal papers, manuscripts and photographs. The bulk of the collection consists of manuscripts, rare books, and objects from the 19th – 20th century documenting the history of the United States, with an emphasis on Southwestern Pennsylvania. The collection also documents the social and black history of the college and the Washington County area. 

The Archives are routinely consulted by campus faculty, staff and students; alumni and their families; local historians; genealogists; and general researchers from across the United States. 

Archival Material can be found in two areas in the college library 

1. Archive Reading Room 

• Here you are welcome to browse the shelves and admire the art and objects on view. 
• Historical College Publications such as the “Pandora” year books, and student Zines such as the “Wag Jag” can be accessed here.
• No items may be removed from the Archive Reading Room. 

2. Rare and unique material can be accessed by appointment in the reading room. Requests may relate to a specific subject including - but not limited to (in order of prevalence):

• Rare books and incunabulum 
• History and of Washington & Jefferson College, its Alumni, Faculty and Staff
• Student and faculty theses and research 
• Literary Society Minutes
• Sports history of the college
• Social history of the college and Washington County 
• The Whiskey Rebellion  
• Black history - slave records and the underground railroad 
• History of the Presbyterian Church 
• Women’s history at the college and social reform
• Westward movement and settlement of Southwestern Pennsylvania  
• Indian land cessions  
• History of the settlement of Pittsburgh 
• Washington & Jefferson College’s role in our nation’s wars 
• Washington Female Seminary
• 20th century American politics 
• Artwork 

Please contact the College Archivist, Sinéad Bligh at sbligh@washjeff.edu or complete an Archives and Special Collections Research Request Form to view the collection

Before viewing archival materials, all visitors are asked to agree to the following list of regulations and to sign in upon arrival 

• As items in the College Archives do not circulate, these items may be used only in the supervised Archives reading area. The College Archives reserves the right to limit the use of fragile or deteriorating material that may be further damaged by handling or photocopying. However, whenever possible, information will be made available for viewing. 
• Materials are to be handled with great care and the use of gloves may be required. 
• Personal belongings are limited to pencils, notebooks, laptops, tablets, and phones. Bags are not permitted. 
• Pens and markers are not permitted. 
• Permission must be granted for the use of cameras, recording devices, and other special equipment. 
• Eating and drinking are not permitted. 
• Depending on available staff, in-depth research may be limited and is at the discretion of the archivist. 
• Requested materials may be limited at any one time and must be retrieved by staff. 

Reproduction 

Scanning requests should be made to the staff and approved by the archivist. Scanning will be done for the patron only when materials are not placed at risk and there may be a charge depending on the material and volume to be scanned.

Publication  

• To publish, use in film, mount on a website, or exhibit original material from the Archives, you must submit your request in writing and direct it to the College Archivist.  
• All permission is granted for one-time use only, in one publication, exhibit, or activity, in one edition, and in one language.  
• Each use of materials must be accompanied by the proper credit line “Courtesy and Copyright The Learned T. Bulman '48 Historic Archives & Museum, Washington & Jefferson College.”   
• In granting permission, the Historic Archives & Museum neither surrenders its rights to exhibit, publish, or otherwise reproduce the materials, nor to grant permission to others to do so. 

The Learned T. Bulman ’48 Historic Archives and Museum, along with its designated staff, adhere to the positions set forth in the Society of American Archivists Core Values Statement and Code of Ethics. 

• Please be aware that the W&J Archives contain records that are historical in nature and products of the time and society under which they were created, therefore some are offensive and may be triggering.    

• Washington & Jefferson College does not endorse the views expressed in these materials.   

• These items have been retained as they originally existed to preserve the integrity of the historical record and to foster accountability for the institution's actions and decisions.  

If you encounter any harmful or offensive language or content in the Bulman archival collections on this website, in our finding aids, or in our digitized collections, please contact us at archive@washjeff.edu. Please also contact us if you have any questions or suggestions about this statement. It is a work in progress, and we welcome feedback.