Rev. Phillis A. Glover, founding member of the Black Student Union at Washington and Jefferson College in 1972, image courtesy and copyright W&J College Archive.
Click the link to view Women's History at Washington and Jefferson College from Washington Female Seminary in 1836 to women's admission to the college in 1970 through to 2025.
Subjects covered in the archive are including - but not limited to the following in order of prevalence:
Please contact the College Archivist, Sinéad Bligh at sbligh@washjeff.edu or complete an Archives and Special Collections Research Request Form to view the collection
Mock Convention Washington and Jefferson College 1932, image Courtesy and Copyright The Learned T. Bulman '48 Historic Archives & Museum, Washington & Jefferson College
An Archive… (With a Capital A!) “is an organization dedicated to preserving the documentary heritage of a particular group: a city, a province or state, a business, a university, or a community.” - The Society of American Archivists definition
For example,
are all responsible for the preservation and management of archives.
special collection
n. “a cohesive collection of noncirculating research materials held together by provenance or by a thematic focus…,
Physical archival Material can be found in three ways in the college library:
Here you are welcome to browse the shelves and admire the art and objects on view.
Historical College Publications such as the “Pandora” year books, and student Zines such as the “Wag Jag” can be accessed here.
No items may be removed from the Archive Reading Room.
Please see the Special Collections Webpage for an up-to-date listing of the specific subjects covered in our archive.
This includes the Red & Black, Washington & Jefferson College's student-run newspaper. The digitized issues run from 1909 to 2016.
Offensive Material Disclaimer
Please be aware that the W&J Archives contain records that are historical in nature and products of the time and society under which they were created, therefore some are offensive and may be triggering.
Washington & Jefferson College does not endorse the views expressed in these materials.
These items have been retained as they originally existed to preserve the integrity of the historical record and to foster accountability for the institution's actions and decisions.
If you encounter any harmful or offensive language or content in the Bulman archival collections on this website, in our finding aids, or in our digitized collections, please contact us at archive@washjeff.edu. Please also contact us if you have any questions or suggestions about this statement. It is a work in progress, and we welcome feedback.
