Clark Family Library: English Literature: Find Articles and Online Resources

EBSCO Discovery Service

Use EBSCO Discovery Service to search all of the Library's databases at once.

Enter keywords in the search box
After you press 'search', use filters to refine results to include journal articles, full-text, and, if desired, scholarly/peer-reviewed
Click on the title to access the full text, if available.

Below is a curated list of library databases where you can find more specific resources relating to the study of literature.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Historical Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text is an exceptional research database covering world history from the 15th century to the present. Coverage extends to related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology and sociology.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full-text of more than 1,030 journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Another great database to start your research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of the Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism reference series. Includes essays, reviews and other critical responses representing a range of views on 19th and 20th century authors, their works and related topics across all genres and all areas of the world.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Gale Literary Sources, Gale Literature is a comprehensive search of Gale literature databases: 19th Century Literary Criticism, 20th Century Literature Criticism, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts. Covers 4,400 international journals with 1.8 million citations from the mid 1920s to present. Provides links to full-text of more than 140,000 articles. If you are new to MLA International Bibliography, please watch this tutorial series to help you use it to your greatest benefit.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Database offers a wide range of primary sources detailing the arts in Great Britain during the 19th century. It includes the full-text of 150 publications and more than 3,000 manuscripts from theatre archives of playbills and scripts to music archives of operas. Use the drop-down menu to select the database you want to search.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains searchable full-text English, German and French literature titles from the Castle Corvey Collection. An important archive of Romantic era writing and includes fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more. Use the drop-down menu to select the database you want to search. Gale.
OED (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new window
Oxford English Dictionary is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words—past and present—from across the English-speaking world. OED.
Project Muse: Basic Undergraduate Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of heavily indexed and peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Database includes 340 full-text journals from 80 scholarly publishers from 1995 to present. MUSE.

Below is a curated list of scholarly journals where you can find more specific resources relating to the study of literature.

Modern Language Review
The Modern Language Review is a leading peer-reviewed journal in literature studies published by the Modern Language Association.
Mosaic: an interdisciplinary critical journal
Mosaic is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal focused on literature and theory published by the University of Manitoba.
Shakespeare Quarterly
The Shakespeare Quarterly is one of the leading journals in Shakespeare scholarship published by the Folger Shakespeare Library.
Studies in English Literature
This peer-reviewed, scholarly journal focuses on four fields of British literature in rotating, quarterly issues: English Renaissance, Tudor and Stuart Drama, Restoration and Eighteenth Century, and Nineteenth Century.
Contemporary Literature
This is a peer-reviewed journal published by the University of Wisconsin Press that publishes "[...]scholarly essays on contemporary writing in English, interviews with established and emerging authors, and reviews of recent critical books in the field" ("About this Journal").
Comparative Literature
This peer-reviewed journal by Duke University Press is the oldest journal in the field of comparative literature in the U.S., and publishes articles relating to literary history and theory.
Journal of Modern Literature
This peer-reviewed journal published by Indiana University Press focuses on "scholarly studies of literature in all languages, as well as related arts and cultural artifacts, from 1900 to the present" ("Publication Details for 'Journal of Modern Literature'").

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar with keywords to find citations and some full text articles.

Look for the "Find Full-Text" link to the right of the citation.

Click the link to retrieve the full text of the article from our Library's databases.

English Literature

What is Peer Review?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

EBSCO Discovery Service

Selected Resources

Google Scholar