Clark Family Library: Religious Studies: Find Reliable Websites

Why use websites?

Websites are great resources because:

They can contain a wide variety of information on all sorts of topics and in many formats.
They are helpful for current events, reports, data, etc.
Scholars are increasingly using personal websites, blogs, Open Access databases, and sharing collaborative projects openly online.
You'll have access to these resources after you graduate!

Reliable Websites

Below is a list of websites to get you started. Keep in mind it is not a definitive list, so use your Google search tips to find additional credible websites.

Al-Islam.org by the Ahlul Bayt DILP
The DILP's objectives are to digitize and present quality Islamic resources related to the history, law, practice, and society of the Islamic religion, with particular emphasis on Twelver Shia Islamic school of thought.
Answers in Genesis
Answers in Genesis is an apologetics ministry, dedicated to helping Christians defend their faith and proclaim the gospel of Jesus Christ effectively. We focus on providing answers to questions about the Bible—particularly the book of Genesis—regarding key issues such as creation, evolution, science, and the age of the earth.
Association of Religion Data Archives
Provides American and international data collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.
Creation Moments
Creation Moments exists to provide Biblically sound materials to the Church in the area of Bible and science relationships.
His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama
The official website of the Office of His Holiness the 14th Dalai Lama. His Holiness is the spiritual leader of the Tibetan people.
National Library of Israel
The largest collection of publications within Israel is accessible to the public free of charge at the National Library with over 5 million volumes of books, manuscripts, periodicals, archives, maps, photographs, and audio recordings. (In Hebrew, Arabic and English).
Perseus Digital Library
Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life seeks to promote a deeper understanding of issues at the intersection of religion and public affairs.
SPIRITUALITY, RELIGION, CULTURE, AND PEACE: EXPLORING THE FOUNDATIONS FOR INNER-OUTER PEACE IN THE TWENTY-FIRST CENTURY
This paper is about different spiritual and religious traditions in the world and how they have or could in the future contribute to the creation of a global culture of peace. By Linda Groff and Paul Smoker.
THE MITHRAIC MYSTERIES
The icons of this ancient Mediterranean cult can be deciphered only in terms of a worldview that placed the powers controlling human destiny not on the earth but in the stars. Source: Scientific American, December 1989.
The New Testament and Greco-Roman Mystery Religions
The following article is composed of possible parallels between the New Testament and the Mystery religions.1 The purpose for the paper is simply to demonstrate that the mystery religions help at times to elucidate background (i.e. practices, beliefs and linguistic phenomena) for the understanding of certain N. T. texts.