Clark Family Library: FYS 199-01 Pushing to Limit, (Dunn) Fall 2023: Home

Keep Track of Your Sources

Be organized. Some ways to keep track of citations as you research:

Email the article to yourself.
Download and save or print the article.
Add citations to a Google or Word document. BEWARE: Do not copy the URL or bookmark items that you find in a database. Instead, look for an option to get a permalink or page link from within the database.
Use the database's Save function to save articles to a folder within the database.
Use a free citation management tool like EndNote or Zotero (see below).

Excelsior Writing Lab
Citation examples, videos, and formatting guides for APA style.
Purdue Writing Lab
Online writing lab with formatting tips and sample papers.
The "Cite your source automatically" feature is part of another website and is not recommended.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Readers' Guide Full-Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts of articles from 450 popular magazines as far back as 1983 Subject coverage includes arts, business, computers, education, current events, and more. Has only a few peer-reviewed periodicals. Multidisciplinary.

Wall Street Journal (Website Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles and images in the WSJ from four years ago to the present. Click the link to create your account. Once your account has been created you are able to access the content by clicking this database link or through the WSJ home page and signing in.
Washington Post (Website subscription) This link opens in a new window
On campus access to the Washington Post.com. For access from off-campus you must create an account. See the FAQ page for directions.

The New York Times (Website Subscription)
Contains full-text articles and images in the New York Times from 1851 to the present on the nytimes.com website. Access to articles from 1923 to 1980 is limited to five per day, any other time frame provides unlimited article access.

See our FAQ page for directions to create a New York Times account.

Questions to ask while evaluating a source:

What type of source is it (book, journal article, magazine article, website, etc.)?
How old is it?
What do you know about the author?
Does the author document their sources?
How objective is the content?

Evaluating Sources
This chart can help you think through evaluating information.

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Clark Family Library

724-503-1001, ext. 3039

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics, FYS, Mathematics