Clark Family Library: Communication Arts: Home

Welcome

In this guide you will find a list of recommend resources which encompass print and electronic library resources as well as resources from the open web. Since research in communication may involve other disciplines (such as psychology, sociology, business, or conflict & resolution studies) you may need to consult resources and study guides for those fields as well.

Within the Communication Arts major at W&J students can choose an emphasis for their studies in Theatre, Media Studies, and Public Relations. Check out the tabs for these areas to find more specific resources.

This guide only scratches the surface of the resources that are available so please don't hesitate to consult with a librarian for additional support. You can make an appointment with a librarian here: https://washjeff.libcal.com/appointments?lid=6461&g=14670.

Curated Reference Resources

21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook
A key term in 21st Century communication is convergence. Not only are media and technology converging with each other to produce new means of communicating, but individuals are increasingly using both new and existing communication tools to create new forms of communication.
more...less...
This convergence forces the various “camps” within the communication discipline to draw upon each other’s theories and research methods to keep up with explaining the rapidly changing communication environment. This convergence of ideas and theories provides a space to challenge conventional ways of thinking about the communication discipline.
Dictionary of Media & Communication Studies
This text provides a gateway into the study of intercultural communication, public relations, and marketing communications for all those interested in how communication affects our lives.
Key Concepts in Media & Communications
This book covers key concepts in media and communication studies.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Digital Media
Teachers, students, and the curious can quickly turn to this reference work for reliable information on the key terms and concepts of the field.
Key Concepts in Journalism Studies
An introduction to the terms, processes and effects of journalism.
Key Concepts in Radio Studies
Provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use introduction to the field of radio studies.
Keywords for Media Studies
Keywords for Media Studies introduces and aims to advance the field of critical media studies by tracing, defining, and problematizing its established and emergent terminology. The book historicizes thinking about media and society, whether that means noting a long history of "new media," or tracing how understandings of media "power" vary across time periods and knowledge formations.
Opinions Throughout History: Social Media
As a resource for exploring the influences on American values, Opinions Throughout History: Social Media Issues provides an essential and an accessible commentary on the ways in which advances in communication technologies and practices have shaped American opinion and history.
Race in American Television: Voices and Visions That Shaped a Nation
This encyclopedia explores representations of people of color in American television. It includes essays on early, classic, and contemporary television and the challenges, developments, and participation of minorities on and behind the screen. Over five decades, it shows how race has shaped television and television has shaped society. Offers critical analysis of moments and themes and covers key artists of color, prominent shows, and the debates that have defined television.

Handbook of Research on Integrating Social Media into Strategic Marketing
This book explores the use of social networking and other online media in marketing communications, including both best practices and common pitfalls to provide comprehensive coverage of the topic.
Key Concepts in Marketing
Introduces and examines the key issues, methods, models and debates that define the field of marketing today.
Key Concepts in Public Relations
An introduction to the field of public relations.
Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Marketing & PR Book
The Ultimate Marketing & PR Book gives you everything you need to be a better marketer. It is a dynamic collection of essential skills covering the topics that will help you make a seismic impact upon your performance - faster than you ever thought possible.

The Basics: World Theatre
World Theatre: The Basics presents a well-rounded introduction to non-Western theatre, exploring the history and current practice of theatrical traditions in Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Oceania, the Caribbean, and the non-English-speaking cultures of the Americas.
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre
Offers a wealth of information on the history and present practice of theatre in all parts of the world. Written by a team of international experts, it clearly depicts the dynamic interaction of performance traditions from all cultures in present-day theatre. While saluting the history and traditions of 'high' art in the theatre, the Guide also celebrates the importance of 'low' art: the energy and animation that has infused popular theatre and popular entertainment for thousands of years
The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance
An authoritative reference covering primarily actors, playwrights, directors, styles and movements, companies and organizations.

Communication Arts

Need Help? Ask a Librarian!

Welcome

Curated Reference Resources

New York Times U.S. News RSS Feed