Clark Family Library: Russian History: Find Articles

Why use articles?

Academic articles are good resources because:

They provide information about specific and recent topics
They include bibliographies to refer you to additional information
Many articles are scholarly or peer-reviewed, meaning they have been critically reviewed by experts to ensure they are of highest quality and especially suitable for academic resources.

Image from George Mason University, Guide on the Side.

Peer Review

Databases

See Databases A-Z to search for databases. Most databases are paid for by the library, but some are freely available to all.

Specific databases to try include:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Historical Abstracts with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text is an exceptional research database covering world history from the 15th century to the present. Coverage extends to related disciplines such as archaeology, anthropology and sociology.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full-text of more than 1,030 journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Another great database to start your research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts. Covers 4,400 international journals with 1.8 million citations from the mid 1920s to present. Provides links to full-text of more than 140,000 articles. If you are new to MLA International Bibliography, this tutorial series can help you use the database to your greatest benefit.
Project Muse: Basic Undergraduate Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of heavily indexed and peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Database includes 340 full-text journals from 80 scholarly publishers from 1995 to present. MUSE.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If you find an article that you believe will be useful for your research and it is behind a paywall, please submit a request for the article via Interlibrary Loan. You can complete the ILL form here: http://libguides.washjeff.edu/ill

Articles are scanned and shared as PDFs. Typically you'll receive your article within 48 hours and then the PDF is yours to keep. There is no charge for ILL requests and no limit to how many requests you can make.

Need help? Just ask! Librarians can typically determine whether or not we have full-text access to an article very quickly. If we don't have it, we'll help you complete the ILL form.