Clark Family Library: FYS-199-23 Children and Cinema (Samuel J. Stanton) Fall 2024: Archival Sources

Washington and Jefferson College Archive

Physical archival Material can be found in two ways in the college library:

Archive Reading Room

Here you are welcome to browse the shelves and admire the art and objects on view.
Historical College Publications such as the “Pandora” year books, and student Zines such as the “Wag Jag” can be accessed here.
No items may be removed from the Archive Reading Room.

Rare and unique material can be accessed by appointment in the reading room.

Please see the Special Collections Webpage for an up-to-date listing of the specific subjects covered in our archive.

Digitized Archive Material can be access online in our Clark Family Library Digital Archives

This includes:

Red & Black, Washington & Jefferson College's student-run newspaper. The digitized issues run from 1909 to 2016.

W&J Alumni Directory, 1802 - 1945, It includes a general catalogue of graduates and non-graduates of Jefferson College, Washington College, and Washington & Jefferson College.

Social History Archives

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (Oscars)
Experience the history of the Academy Awards from the last 84 ceremonies. Browse through video highlights, photos, as well as past nominees and winners.
American Film Institute
AFI is America's promise to preserve the history of the motion picture, to honor the artists and their work and to educate the next generation of storytellers.
Library of Congress National Film Registry
The National Film Registry selects 25 films each year showcasing the range and diversity of American film heritage to increase awareness for its preservation.
Moving Image Archive
Comprehensive guide full of moving images is a must see for any student of film!
Museum of the Moving Image
Museum of the Moving Image collects, preserves, and provides access to moving-image related artifacts, films and other moving-image works, exhibitions, and interactive experiences.
Sundance Film Festival
Sundance Film Festival brings the most original storytellers together with the most adventurous audiences for its annual program of dramatic and documentary films, shorts, New Frontier films, installations, performances, panel discussions, and dynamic music events.

Pittsburgh Based Archives

August Wilson Archive

The University Library System (ULS) at the University of Pittsburgh has acquired the archive of the late playwright and Pittsburgh native son August Wilson, best known for his unprecedented American Century Cycle —ten plays that convey the Black experience in each decade of the 20th century.

University of Pittsburgh, Curtis Theatre Collection

The Ford E. and Harriet R. Curtis Theatre Collection is an extensive resource for theatre scholars. The collection consists of several thousand volumes of playscripts, acting editions, histories, and critical works of the theatre and drama, nearly 500,000 theatre programs, plus periodicals, posters, ephemera, rare scrapbooks and over 20,000 photographs.

USA Based Archives

Theatre Historical Society

The Theatre Historical Society of America was founded in 1969 by the late writer and theatre historian Ben M. Hall, author of the first book celebrating America’s movie palaces, The Best Remaining Seats.

American Theatre Archive Project

The American Theatre Archive Project (ATAP), created in 2009, is an initiative of the American Society for Theatre Research (ASTR) that advocates for the preservation of American theatrical legacy. Specifically, ATAP provides resources to assist living theatre companies in managing their current and archival records.

New York Public Library – Theatre on Film and Tape Archive

Since 1970, the Theatre on Film and Tape Archive (TOFT) has preserved live theatrical productions and documented the creative contributions of distinguished artists and legendary figures of the theatre. With the consent and cooperation of the theatrical unions and each production's artistic collaborators, TOFT produces video recordings of Broadway, Off-Broadway, and regional theatre productions, as well as dialogues between notable theatre personalities.

The National Theatre Archive

The oldest cultural institution in Washington, D.C., and the second oldest theatre in the country, The National Theatre embodies a richly layered history. Since opening its doors in 1835 the venue has played an important role in American theatrical heritage

National Recording Preservation Board

Program sponsored by the Library of Congress that chooses "25 recordings showcasing the range and diversity of American recorded sound heritage in order to increase preservation awareness."

Theatre Library Association - an association dedicated to support "librarians and archivists affiliated with theatre, dance, performance studies, popular entertainment, motion picture and broadcasting collections."

International Theatre Sources

The 20th Century Time Machine

Takes you back in time to the events of the past century that shaped the world we live in today. Watch documentaries, interviews and real footage of major events. Discover the exciting world of the 20th Century through the political events as they happened, the wars, the progress of science , the arts and sports, tv and cinema in a century not so far in the past. The videos uploaded to this channel are either in the public domain, have a creative commons license for reuse or comply with fair use. If any video uploaded to this channel is identified as copyrighted, please notify and it will be removed immediately.

BECKETT COLLECTION: PHOTOGRAPHS, FILMS AND SOUND RECORDINGS

The collection contains over 800 photographs which capture scenes of Beckett’s work portrayed in theatre and on screen, including ‘En Attendant Godot’, ‘Fin de Partie’, ‘Happy Days’ and ‘Krapp’s Last Tape’, and also images of Beckett himself, aspects of his life, his friends and family.

Freedom Riders in the South This link opens in a new window
Database documents the civil rights group's mission with over 4,000 digitized images of surveillance reports, chronologies, from the FBI Investigation Library. Offers a great collection of primary source documents on civil rights, desegregation, and African American studies. Gale.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive search of the Gale primary source databases: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania Digital Archive, Freedom Riders in the South, Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Punch Historical Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.

The Clark Family Library Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
The Clark Family Library Digital Archives is a multimedia exhibition of materials from the Learned T. Bulman '48 Historic Archives & Museum at Washington & Jefferson College. The Archives & Special Collections Library houses items related to the College and its history as well as a large collection of manuscripts and other material related to 18th and 19th century history of the United States, with an emphasis on Southwestern Pennsylvania.

Washington County Public Libraries
The Washington County Library System is a federated library system made up of the 14 independent libraries in Washington County. Many provide access to collections relevant for genealogical and historical study.
Washington's Citizens Library
Excellent resource for social history of the city and county of Washington PA, including "Family Search", "Find a Grave" and library access to ancestry.com
Washington County Historical Society
Excellent resource on Early American History, Black History and Social History of the county. The Washington County Historical Society administers several sites—the Francis J. LeMoyne House, the LeMoyne Crematory, the Norma K. Grimes Research Library and the Washington County Frontier History Center.
more...less...
The Historical Society utilizes these sites to educate the public through offering tours, special events, outreach programs and research services. As the repository for Washington County heritage, the Historical Society maintains an extensive collection of documents and artifacts.

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
For Researchers | Smithsonian Institution
The Smithsonian has wealth of information to support researchers and learners of all types. Whatever the discipline may be, we have online resources and experts who are eager to share knowledge and collaborate. Our investigations unfold at research centers, field sites, and museums in the United States and around the globe.
Archives | NYPL
Archives are the records created by people and organizations as they lived and worked. Collections can range in size from a single letter or diary to thousands of boxes of institutional records. They can contain drafts of literary works, financial records, meeting minutes, reports, memorabilia, as well as sound recordings, videos, film, databases, and software.
On this site, you can search The New York Public Library's vast holdings, initiate a research visit, submit a query to an archivist, and access digitized material.
Carnegie Mellon University Library
Libguides: Browse their best resources, organized by subject
Collections | Hoover Institution - Drama Behind Barbed Wire
The Hoover Institution Library & Archives holds more than one million volumes and over six thousand archival collections documenting war, revolution, and peace in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
Counterculture | UMass Amherst
UMass Amherst Special Collections and Archives listings of digitized counterculture materials and photographs.
Digital Collections | NYPL
Explore 901,680 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
The Public Domain Review
Founded in 2011, The Public Domain Review is an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas.
In particular, as our name suggests, the focus is on works which have now fallen into the public domain, that vast commons of out-of-copyright material that everyone is free to enjoy, share, and build upon without restriction. Our aim is to promote and celebrate the public domain in all its abundance and variety, and help our readers explore its rich terrain – like a small exhibition gallery at the entrance to an immense network of archives and storage rooms that lie beyond.