Clark Family Library: FYS 199-19 Science & Art (J.Bayline) Fall 2024: Archival Sources

Further Archival Resources

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers fine and commercial art, sculpture, and additional emphasis on architecture. Offers over 63,000 art images, 600 full-text journals dating back to 1990 and more than 220 full-text books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
Project Muse: Basic Undergraduate Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of heavily indexed and peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Database includes 340 full-text journals from 80 scholarly publishers from 1995 to present. MUSE.

A curated list of artists in institutional archives and artists own archives independent from institutions. Keep checking back as this list is added to. Contact the Archivist with any suggested additions.

Artists Archives in Institutions

USA

African American Performance Art Archive

Met Libraries and Research

MoMA Learning

Whitney Archives

LGBT Artists Archives

Yale Centre for British Art

Mattress Factory Museum of Contemporary Art

Andy Warhol Museum Pittsburgh

Carnegie Museum of Art

Sotheby's Institute of Art

Greer Lankton Collection

Tate Britain

Whitechapel Gallery Archive

Barry Flanagan Archive

ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Archives | NYPL
Archives are the records created by people and organizations as they lived and worked. Collections can range in size from a single letter or diary to thousands of boxes of institutional records. They can contain drafts of literary works, financial records, meeting minutes, reports, memorabilia, as well as sound recordings, videos, film, databases, and software.
On this site, you can search The New York Public Library's vast holdings, initiate a research visit, submit a query to an archivist, and access digitized material.
Carnegie Mellon University Library
Libguides: Browse their best resources, organized by subject
Collections | Hoover Institution
The Hoover Institution Library & Archives holds more than one million volumes and over six thousand archival collections documenting war, revolution, and peace in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
Counterculture | UMass Amherst
UMass Amherst Special Collections and Archives listings of digitized counterculture materials and photographs.
Digital Collections | NYPL
Explore 901,680 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
For Researchers | Smithsonian Institution
The Smithsonian has wealth of information to support researchers and learners of all types. Whatever the discipline may be, we have online resources and experts who are eager to share knowledge and collaborate. Our investigations unfold at research centers, field sites, and museums in the United States and around the globe.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Library of Congress
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. The Library is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.
The Public Domain Review
Founded in 2011, The Public Domain Review is an online journal and not-for-profit project dedicated to the exploration of curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas.
In particular, as our name suggests, the focus is on works which have now fallen into the public domain, that vast commons of out-of-copyright material that everyone is free to enjoy, share, and build upon without restriction. Our aim is to promote and celebrate the public domain in all its abundance and variety, and help our readers explore its rich terrain – like a small exhibition gallery at the entrance to an immense network of archives and storage rooms that lie beyond.

Washington and Jefferson College Archive

Physical archival material can be found in two ways in the college library:

Archive Reading Room

Here you are welcome to browse the shelves and admire the art and objects on view.
Historical College Publications such as the “Pandora” year books, and student Zines such as the “Wag Jag” can be accessed here.
No items may be removed from the Archive Reading Room.

Rare and unique material can be accessed by appointment in the reading room.

Please see the Special Collections Webpage for an up-to-date listing of the specific subjects covered in our archive.

Digitized archive material can be access online in our Clark Family Library Digital Archives

This includes:

Red & Black, Washington & Jefferson College's student-run newspaper. The digitized issues run from 1909 to 2016.

W&J Alumni Directory, 1802 - 1945, It includes a general catalogue of graduates and non-graduates of Jefferson College, Washington College, and Washington & Jefferson College.