Clark Family Library: History: Finding Articles

Why use articles?

Academic articles are good resources because:

They provide information about specific and recent topics
They include bibliographies to refer you to additional information
Many articles are scholarly or peer-reviewed, meaning they have been critically reviewed by experts to ensure they are of highest quality and especially suitable for academic resources.

Image from George Mason University, Guide on the Side.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full-text of more than 1,030 journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Another great database to start your research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
Project Muse: Basic Undergraduate Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of heavily indexed and peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Database includes 340 full-text journals from 80 scholarly publishers from 1995 to present. MUSE.

Articles on similar topics are collected into journals, which are collected into databases.

Articles typically:

Journals typically:

Contain multiple articles
Are periodicals (published at consistent intervals) like newspapers and magazines
Are focused on a specific subject area
Can be available online and/or in print

Databases typically: