Clark Family Library: EVS 100 (East): Finding Articles

Why use articles?

Academic articles are good resources because:

They provide information about specific and recent topics
They include bibliographies to refer you to additional information
Many articles are scholarly or peer-reviewed, meaning they have been critically reviewed by experts to ensure they are of highest quality and especially suitable for academic resources.

Image from George Mason University, Guide on the Side.

Suggested Resources

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text from over 5200 journals, magazines, and trade publications covering business, economics, finance, marketing and more, plus detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, and products, for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Database from the American Economics Association provides full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, economic forecasting, labor economics and monetary theory. 1969 to present.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources), Gale in Context: Environmental Studies is a multidisciplinary research database that covers environment, energy and natural resources. Offers international coverage and includes articles from 700 authoritative journals plus newspapers, videos, podcasts, images.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers about 2,600 peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, life sciences, psychology, arts, humanities, education, business, economics, and social sciences. Most articles are full-text. Use Advanced Search mode. Elsevier.
Click here for more information on the Internet Browser Requirements for ScienceDirect

Peer Review

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If you find an article that you believe will be useful for your research and it is behind a paywall, please submit a request for the article via Interlibrary Loan. You can complete the ILL form here: http://libguides.washjeff.edu/ill

Articles are scanned and shared as PDFs. Typically you'll receive your article within 48 hours and then the PDF is yours to keep. There is no charge for ILL requests and no limit to how many requests you can make.

Need help? Just ask! Librarians can typically determine whether or not we have full-text access to an article very quickly. If we don't have it, we'll help you complete the ILL form.