Clark Family Library: Physics: Finding Articles and Online Resources

EBSCO Discovery Service

Use EBSCO Discovery Service to search all of the Library's databases at once.

Enter keywords in the search box
After you press 'search', use filters on the left to refine results to include journal articles, full-text, and, if desired, scholarly/peer-reviewed
Click on the title to access the full text

Discovery

Discovery searches ALL of the Library resources!

Resources

arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,309,934 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

PROLA This link opens in a new window
PROLA provides immediate access to the American Physical Society journal collection dating back to the first volume of each journal. The Library subscription to PROLA provides access to all journal content, except for the current year and the preceding three years.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers about 2,600 peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, life sciences, psychology, arts, humanities, education, business, economics, and social sciences. Most articles are full-text. Use Advanced Search mode. Elsevier.
Click here for more information on the Internet Browser Requirements for ScienceDirect

Browsing or searching journals is useful when you are already familiar with your topic, you've been told by your professor to look in a specific publication, or you are tracking down full-text access to a citation or abstract you found somewhere else. Searching in one journal is typically not an effective way to research a topic.

To search for a journal by title, use the Find Information drop down menu on the Library's homepage:

Click the Find Journals link
A new window will open with a search box.
Enter the title of the journal (ex: Civil War History) or a keyword (ex: civil war)
Click Search
Check the "Peer Reviewed Journals" box to limit your results on the left side of the screen.
Each search result will list out the various ways you can access the journal through our library.
For online access click the link
For print or microfilm holdings, come to the library for additional assistance in accessing the title.

Need Help? Ask at the User Services desk!

American Institute of Physics (AIP)
Since the time of Galileo, practitioners of the physical sciences have given humankind powerful, ever-evolving predictive models of our world, enabling stunning technological achievements and enriching our understanding of the universe and our place in it.
For nearly a century, the American Institute of Physics (AIP) has worked to advance, promote and serve the physical sciences community for the benefit of humanity.
As a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit corporation, AIP is committed to the preservation of physics for future generations, the success of physics students both in the classroom and professionally and the promotion of a more scientifically literate society.
CERN Document Server
Access articles, reports and multimedia content in HEP.
Department of Energy National Laboratories
The Energy Department's 17 National Labs tackle the critical scientific challenges of our time -- from combating climate change to discovering the origins of our universe -- and possess unique instruments and facilities, many of which are found nowhere else in the world. They address large scale, complex research and development challenges with a multidisciplinary approach that places an emphasis on translating basic science to innovation.
National Institute of Standards and Technology
The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) was founded in 1901and is one of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories.
From the smart electric power grid and electronic health records to atomic clocks, advanced nanomaterials and computer chips, innumerable products and services rely in some way on technology, measurement and standards provided by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
NOVA
NOVA is the most popular primetime science series on American television, demystifying the scientific and technological concepts that shape and define our lives, our planet, and our universe.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If you find a resource that you believe will be useful for your research and that you cannot access either because it is behind a paywall or the library does not have it, please submit a request for it via Interlibrary Loan. You can complete the ILL form here: http://libguides.washjeff.edu/ill

Articles are scanned and shared as PDFs. Typically you'll receive your article within two business days and then the PDF is yours to keep. Books arrive in at least 7 days and must be returned like any other library book. There is no charge for ILL requests and no limit to how many requests you can make.

Need help? Just ask! Librarians can typically determine whether or not we have full-text access to a resource very quickly. If we don't have it, we'll help you complete the ILL form.

ILL
by Ronalee Ciocco Last Updated Jul 2, 2024 909 views this year