Official site for U.S. federal legislative information, including Public Laws and bills, daily Congressional Record, CRS reports, roll call votes, committee schedules, legislator profiles, and treaty documents. Allows searching for legislative activity by policy areas. Also can be used to find and track current legislation.
Official publications from the Federal government's legislative, executive, and judicial branches, including bills and statutes, Congressional Record, Congressional committee reports and hearings, and presidential materials. Information is updated every day that Congress is in session. Provides information from all three branches of the government.
Provides a searchable bill tracking databases covering all 50 states. Select a topic listed below to find complete bill information. The status of bills listed in these databases is updated every week.
Provides materials prepared for Congress by a special branch of the Library of Congress called the Congressional Research Service. By law, CRS works exclusively for Congress, providing research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate.
Data and mapping application that provides access to over 60,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more that enables creation of maps, tables, and reports.
Think tanks (also called Research Institutes, Foundations) are organizations that conduct policy research and publish papers, reports and analysis. Think tanks exist on a spectrum from left-leaning to right-leaning in their policy positions, so take that into account when using their information.
Provides a Google Custom Search of more than 1,200 think tanks and research centers.Searches many think tanks at once. Also provides a list of think tanks.
Nonprofit public policy organization whose goal is to conduct independent research and analysis and to promote democracy, and economic and social security and health, nationally and internationally. (Centrist)
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. (Centrist)
Provides research and opinions on a wide variety of topics, including education reform, natural resources, banking policy, and foreign policy. (Leans Right)
Conducts research that informs policy across a broad range of topics including children, health policy, housing, welfare reform, immigration, cities and metropolitan regions, the nonprofit sector, and tax policy. (Leans left)
Useful Databases
Find news and scholarly articles about your issue.
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research. Good source of news and magazine articles.
PsycInfo is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. A good database to start psychology research.
