Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Washington and Jefferson College

Neuroscience

This guide will introduce you to resources you can use when researching in neuroscience.

Why use articles?

Journal article front pagesAcademic articles are good resources because:

  • They provide information about specific and recent topics
  • They include bibliographies to refer you to additional information
  • Many articles are scholarly or peer-reviewed, meaning they have been critically reviewed by experts to ensure they are of highest quality and especially suitable for academic resources.

Image from George Mason University, Guide on the Side.

EBSCO Discovery Service

Use EBSCO Discovery Service  to search all of the Library's databases at once.

  1. Enter key words in the search box
  2. After you press 'search', use filters on the left to refine results to include journal articles, full-text, and, if desired, scholarly/peer-reviewed
  3. Click on the title to access the full text

 

 

Databases

See Databases A-Z to search for databases. Most databases are paid for by the library, but some are freely available to all. 

Specific databases to try include:

Journals

Examples of e-journals in this discipline include:

Browsing or searching journals is useful when you already have a specific topic/focus for your research. For example, if you are researching slavery you might want to take a look at the journal titled Civil War History.

Using the Find Information drop down menu on the Library's homepage:

  1. Click the Find Journals link
  2. A new window will open with a search box.
  3. Enter the title of the journal
  4. Click Search
  5. Retrieve a list showing all available formats for the journal
  6. For online access click the link
  7. Find print journals in the Current Periodical section
  8. Find microfilm behind the Research Services Desk
  9. Get access to print journals located in storage by completing this form: Bound Journal Storage Request

Need Help? Ask at the User Services or Research Services desks!

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar with keywords to find citations and some full text articles. 

Look for the  "Find Full-Text" link to the right of the citation. 

Click the link to retrieve the full text of the article from our Library's databases.