Finding Articles, Books, and Online Resources - FYS Good News - Clark - Fall 2023 - Clark Family Library at Washington & Jefferson College

Ethical Approach to Research

Practicing ethical research is essential regardless of the type of research you are doing. However, when communicating information to a wide audience, as you will do through your projects in this class. The elements of ethical research listed below can also be used as you evaluate resources that you find.

Consider the subjectivity of the author.
Consider the time in which the resource was created.
Consider the mission and goals of the organization with which the author is affiliated (especially when thinking about research funding), and the scope and biases of the organization or journal in which the resource was published.
Address your own biases and subjectivity and the ethos or the mission and goals of the organization with which you are affiliated.
Respect the autonomy of the individuals in your study when using data and other primary sources.
Uphold the right of privacy of the individuals in your study when conducting original research.
Cite all sources.
Follow all copyright conditions.

What Is Ethics in Research & Why Is It Important?" by David B. Resnik
This 2020 article published by Dr. David B. Resnik outlines what research ethics are and why they are important. The article also includes links to discipline-specific ethical standards for research as well as visual representation of the core elements of ethical research, paraphrased above.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text from over 5200 journals, magazines, and trade publications covering business, economics, finance, marketing and more, plus detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, and products, for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Mostly full-text journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Database from the American Economics Association provides full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, economic forecasting, labor economics and monetary theory. 1969 to present.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources), Gale in Context: Environmental Studies is a multidisciplinary research database that covers environment, energy and natural resources. Offers international coverage and includes articles from 700 authoritative journals plus newspapers, videos, podcasts, images.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 550 scholarly journals focusing on many nursing and allied health, and medical disciplines. includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
ICPSR, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, offers a large social science data archive. It acts as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources in sociology. ICPSR.
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of economics reports and working papers aimed at academic institutions, business, and government. 1921 to current.
OECD: Economic Surveys 2014-2020 This link opens in a new window
This collection of periodic reviews provides a comprehensive analysis of developments in the subject country, along with individual chapters covering key economic challenges. Years covered 2014-2020. OECD.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Data and mapping application that provides access to over 60,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more that enables creation of maps, tables, and reports.
Political Extremism and Radicalism: Far-Right Groups in America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources that examine varying manifestations of far-right ideologies with a particular focus on white supremacist and nationalist groups in the United States.
Project Muse: Basic Undergraduate Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of heavily indexed and peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Database includes 340 full-text journals from 80 scholarly publishers from 1995 to present. MUSE.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. A good database to start psychology research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed offers access to the NLM MEDLINE database. Has citations and abstracts from biomedical literature. Some articles are full-text. NLM.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers about 2,600 peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, life sciences, psychology, arts, humanities, education, business, economics, and social sciences. Most articles are full-text. Use Advanced Search mode. Elsevier.
Click here for more information on the Internet Browser Requirements for ScienceDirect

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
National, regional, industry, and essential information on key issues such as economic growth, regional economic development, and the Nation's position in the world economy.
Climate Change Dashboard - NASA
Global climate change dashboard, displaying the planet's vital signs. The site is hosted by NASA.
CNET
CNET tracks all the latest consumer technology breakthroughs and shows you what's new, what matters, and how technology can enrich your life. We give you the information, tools, and advice that will help you decide what to buy and how to get the most out of the tech in your life.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. This research has helped policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others improve their understanding of our health care system and forms the foundation for many of the ongoing efforts to improve health and health systems across America.
Global Health Observatory (WHO)
WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.
Health.gov
U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services' directory of health resources.
Minority Health & Health Equity Archive (Univ of Md)
This archive of electronic research run by the University of Maryland is designed to foster interdisciplinary research aimed at achieving health equity.
MIT Election Data and Science Lab
MIT's Election Data and Science Lab is a non-partisan research lab that "supports advances in election science by collecting, analyzing, and sharing core data and findings. We also aim to build relationships with election officials and others to help apply new scientific research to the practice of democracy in the United States" ("About").
National Center for Health Statistics - Mental Health
Provides access to basic mental health statistics. The More Data section includes statistical surveys and publications, mental health trend tables, and more.
National Institute of Mental Health
The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure. Includes statistics in the area of mental health.
NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information
NOAA's (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) National Centers for Environmental Information is a hub of atmospheric, coastal, geophysical, and oceanic research/data, as well as general environmental data.
UN Economic and Social Council
This UN Council handles issues such as living conditions, employment and work, development, and health around the world. Many of their reports and research /related materials are available in full-text on their website.
United Nations Environment Programme - Environmental Data
Environmental Data Explorer is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like freshwater, population, forests, emissions, climate, disasters, health and GDP.
White House
The White House's website provides information about executive offices and departments, the administration's initiatives, briefings, presidential remarks, and more.
Wired
This magazine and news source provides coverage of current and future trends in technology, and how they are shaping business, entertainment, communications, science, and politics. You can also read WIRED through our Flipster application.