Clark Family Library: French Language and Literature: Find Articles

Why use articles?

Academic articles are good resources because:

They provide information about specific and recent topics
They include bibliographies to refer you to additional information
Many articles are scholarly or peer-reviewed, meaning they have been critically reviewed by experts to ensure they are of highest quality and especially suitable for academic resources.

Image from George Mason University, Guide on the Side.

EBSCO Discovery Service

Use EBSCO Discovery Service to search all of the Library's databases at once.

Enter keywords in the search box
After you press 'search', use filters to refine results to include journal articles, full-text, and, if desired, scholarly/peer-reviewed
Click on the title to access the full text, if available.

Databases

See Databases A-Z to search for databases. Most databases are paid for by the library, but some are freely available to all.

Specific databases to try include:

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts. Covers 4,400 international journals with 1.8 million citations from the mid 1920s to present. Provides links to full-text of more than 140,000 articles. If you are new to MLA International Bibliography, this tutorial series can help you use the database to your greatest benefit.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full-text of more than 1,030 journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Another great database to start your research.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains searchable full-text English, German and French literature titles from the Castle Corvey Collection. An important archive of Romantic era writing and includes fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more. Use the drop-down menu to select the database you want to search. Gale.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Project Muse: Basic Undergraduate Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of heavily indexed and peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Database includes 340 full-text journals from 80 scholarly publishers from 1995 to present. MUSE.

Journals

Examples of e-journals in this discipline include:

French Politics, Culture & Society
This peer-reviewed, scholarly journal includes articles on current information on developments in contemporary France.
The French Review
This peer-reviewed, scholarly journal contains articles and reviews on francophone culture, including literature, language, linguistics, culture, creative works, technology, etc.

Browsing or searching journals is useful when you already have a specific topic/focus for your research. For example, if you are researching slavery you might want to take a look at the journal titled Civil War History.

Using the Find Information drop down menu on the Library's homepage:

Click the Find Journals link
A new window will open with a search box.
Enter the title of the journal
Click Search
Retrieve a list showing all available formats for the journal
For online access click the link
Find print journals in the Current Periodical section
Find microfilm behind the Research Services Desk
Get access to print journals located in storage by completing this form: Bound Journal Storage Request

Need Help? Ask at the User Services or Research Services desks!

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar with keywords to find citations and some full text articles.

Look for the "Find Full-Text" link to the right of the citation.

Click the link to retrieve the full text of the article from our Library's databases.