Clark Family Library: English Creative and Professional Writing: Find Articles and Online Resources

EBSCO Discovery Service

Use EBSCO Discovery Service to search all of the Library's databases at once.

Enter keywords in the search box
After you press 'search', use filters to refine results to include journal articles, full-text, and, if desired, scholarly/peer-reviewed
Click on the title to access the full text, if available.

Databases

See Databases A-Z to search for databases. Most databases are paid for by the library, but some are freely available to all.

Specific databases to try include:

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Project Muse: Basic Undergraduate Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of heavily indexed and peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Database includes 340 full-text journals from 80 scholarly publishers from 1995 to present. MUSE.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 28 national and international newspapers, selected full-text for more than 260 regional newspapers, and some full-text television and radio news transcripts. Coverage varies by newspaper with some beginning 2000 to present.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full-text of more than 1,030 journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Another great database to start your research.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts. Covers 4,400 international journals with 1.8 million citations from the mid 1920s to present. Provides links to full-text of more than 140,000 articles. If you are new to MLA International Bibliography, this tutorial series can help you use the database to your greatest benefit.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text from over 5200 journals, magazines, and trade publications covering business, economics, finance, marketing and more, plus detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, and products, for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies.

32 Poems
32 Poems is a literary magazine consisting of 32 poems in each semiannual issue. We have print access to this publication, and you can check out some of the poems online at https://32poems.com/. 32 poems is edited by Dr. Clark of the W&J English Department!
The Atlantic Monthly
The Atlantic is a monthly literary & cultural commentary magazine. The Atlantic can also be viewed through our Flipster application.
The Kenyon Review
The Kenyon Review is an esteemed literary magazine published by Kenyon College. You can find short stories, poems, and essays here.
Literary Review
Literary Review is a literary magazine published by Fairleigh Dickinson University. You can find short stories, poems, and essays in literary magazines.
Poetry
Poetry is the leading journal for poetry and the study of poetry. Poetry can also be viewed through our Flipster application.

Journal of Business & Technical Communication
The Journal of Business & Technical Communication is a peer reviewed journal focusing on communication best practices, problems, and trends in business and academic venues.
Journal of Technical Writing and Composition
The Journal of Technical Writing and Composition is a leading journal for technical and professional communications.
Technical Communication Quarterly
Technical Communication Quarterly is a peer reviewed focused on the theory of technical communication and professional writing.

Online Resources

Creative Commons
Creative Commons helps you legally share your knowledge and creativity to build a more equitable, accessible, and innovative world. We unlock the full potential of the internet to drive a new era of development, growth and productivity.

Library of Congress Poetry & Literature Program
The Library of Congress' poetry and literature program includes work by the Poet Laureate and a repository of recordings of famous authors and poets speaking about and reading their work.
NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines
NewPages is a news site for publishing, literary magazines, and the writing profession at large. It keeps an up-to-date list of both print and online literary journals and magazines. They also provide literary magazine reviews, as well as links to publication contests and creative writing programs.
Poets & Writers
Poets & Writers is the largest non-profit organization in the U.S. serving the creative writing community. They offer educational programs as well as resources on finding communities and publishing your work, among other topics.
Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP)
The Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP) is a nonprofit literary organization that provides support, advocacy, resources, and community to creative writers, creative writing academic programs, and writing conferences and centers. Their website provides resources on information about literary contests, writing conferences, and writing programs.

Purdue OWL - Professional and Technical Writing
Purdue OWL is an online resource for writing and citation help created by Purdue University. This page offers tips and resources to hone your professional and technical writing skills.
TechWhirl
TechWirl is a online resource center for tips on different kinds of professional and technical writing.
Technical Writing - Wilmington University Library
This resource guide from Wilmington University Library in Deleware has a rich collection of online resources for Technical and Professional Writing.