Clark Family Library: Economics: Find Data

Finding Data

The best strategy for finding statistics is to identify the stakeholders (governments, companies, organizations) and do a thorough search of their publications and Internet pages. Keep in mind that it's possible that the data you're seeking might not be available in the desired format. It could be that no one is currently collecting it, it's not accessible online, and/or it might only be accessible for a fee.

The data sources in this guide can provide a good starting point for your research. Some additional tips for finding data:

Define your topic: Define the subject of your research, the specific geographical region, and the timeframe you're interested in. If you're unable to locate the exact data you need, consider adjusting one of these factors and conducting another search.
Identify organizations that might collect this data and try searching their websites.
Check the data citations in journal articles or books on your topic.
Ask a librarian or your professor for assistance.

Data Archives and Catalogs

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
ICPSR, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, offers a large social science data archive. It acts as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources in sociology. ICPSR.

Data.gov
If you don't know what agency to start with, use this government data portal.
Harvard Dataverse Repository
A free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data.
American Economic Association Data Sources
Links to some of the most useful and popular economics data sources, categorized by data type.
World Bank Data Catalog
Free and open access to global development data
NBER Data Archive
Mix of public use economic, demographic, and enterprise data obtained over the years to satisfy the specific requests of NBER affiliated researchers for particular projects.

US/Domestic Data Sources

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
National, regional, industry, and essential information on key issues such as economic growth, regional economic development, and the Nation's position in the world economy.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics and tables from the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information Data Explorer
This data explorer searches for data from research funded by the Department of Energy. It's a helpful tool to find publicly-funded scientific research from research institutions around the country.
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
USDA Economic Research Service

US Census Bureau Data
Provides data profiles, tables and maps, data tools and links to the census data explorer.
Current Population Survey (CPS)
The Current Population Survey (CPS), sponsored jointly by the U.S. Census Bureau and the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS), is the primary source of labor force statistics for the population of the United States.
IPUMS USA
Provides US Census data, including decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.
IPUMS NHGIS
Provides access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks

National Center for Health Statistics
Welcome to the National Center for Health Statistics' website, a rich source of information about America's health. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information - a critical element of public health and health policy.
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
The annual Rankings provide a revealing snapshot of how health is influenced by where we live, learn, work and play.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Offers data, surveys, and full-text reports about all levels of education. From the U. S. Department of Education.

Federal Reserve Economic Data - FRED - St. Louis Fed
Federal Reserve Economic Data. You can download, graph, and track 213,000 US and international time series from 65 sources. Includes CPI, GDP, employment and much more.
Federal Reserve System
US Treasury
YAHOO Finance
Free ad-supported resource from Yahoo! that provides stock quotes, news, and market data.

International Data Sources

International Monetary Fund Data
Provides a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
OECD Data
The OECD iLibrary provides full-text access to OECD studies, periodicals, and the OECD.Stat collection of statistical databases.It covers areas such as agricultural policies, environmental indicators, social expenditures, labour markets, national accounts, foreign trade and FDI, and various industry-level data.
United Nations Data (UNSTATS)
UNSD compiles and disseminates global statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
UN Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
UNCTAD compiles, validates and processes a wide range of data collected from national and international sources about trade and development and the interrelated issues in the areas of finance, technology, investment and sustainable development.
US Census Bureau International Programs
The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries.
World Bank Data
Free and open access to global development data
World Economics and Politics Dataverse
The World Economics and Politics (WEP) Dataverse is a queryable data resource for comparative and international political economy.