Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Washington and Jefferson College

Citation Styles: APA, MLA, Chicago, & Beyond!: Chicago 17th/Turabian 8th

The Chicago Manual of Style Online

Chicago Manual of Style

What is Chicago Style?

Chicago is a documentation style that has been published by the Chicago University Press since 1906. This citation style incorporates rules of grammar and punctuation common in American English. Chicago style allows for two types of source citation, Notes & Bibliography or Author-Date. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and the nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.
(Source: Official Chicago Manual website)

Notes & Bibliography Style

The notes and bibliography style is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in footnotes or endnotes, typically supplemented with a bibliography. If there is no bibliography the full citation should be given in the notes field. If there is a bibliography, information in the note can be brief but must match an entry in the bibliography. Brief notes typically include the author's last name, the title of the work (usually shortened if it's more than four words), and a page number if appropriate.  

Material Type

Note Entry

Bibliography Entry

Book or Ebook
For an ebook a DOI or permalink would be added to the note w/o bib or full bibliography entry. 

Note w/o Bib.: 1. Michael Pollan, The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals (New York: Penguin, 2006), 99–100.

Note w/ Bib.: 1. Pollan, Omnivore's Dilemma, 3.

Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin, 2006.

An article in a journal
For a print journal no DOI or permalink are needed.

Note w/o Bib: 1. Gueorgi Kossinets and Duncan J. Watts, “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network,” American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 411, doi:10.1086/599247.

Note w/ Bib: 1. Kossinets and Watts, “Origins of Homophily,” 439.

Bibliography: Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.” American Journal of Sociology 115 (2009): 405–50. doi:10.1086/599247.

A website

Note w/o Bib: 1.“Google Privacy Policy,” last modified March 11, 2009, http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.

Note w/ Bib: 1."Google Privacy Policy.”

Bibliography: Google. “Google Privacy Policy.” Last modified March 11, 2009. http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.

Author-Date Style

The author-date style is preferred by those in the sciences and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.

Author/Date Style

In-text Citation

Bibliography

A book or ebook
For an ebook a DOI or permalink would be added to the end of the citation.

(Pollan 2006, 99–100)

Pollan, Michael. 2006. The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin.

An article in a journal
For an article in a print journal no DOI or permalink is necessary. 

(Kossinets and Watts 2009, 411)

Kossinets, Gueorgi, and Duncan J. Watts. 2009. “Origins of Homophily in an Evolving Social Network.” American Journal of Sociology 115:405–50. doi:10.1086/599247.

A website

(Google 2009)

Google. 2009. “Google Privacy Policy.” Last modified March 11. http://www.google.com/intl/en/privacypolicy.html.

Online Chicago Citation Resources