It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIS 285: The Middle East
Use this guide to help guide you through the research process in topics related to Middle East Studies.
Full-text of 28 national and international newspapers, selected full-text for more than 260 regional newspapers, and some full-text television and radio news transcripts. Coverage varies by newspaper with some beginning 2000 to present.
Contains searchable full-text articles from the New York Times newspaper from 1980-present. We also have access to the New York Times through their website which covers back to 1851. Since this content is in a database you may find that it's easier to search and filter than nytimes.com. Content discovered through this database will not have images included but articles through nytimes.com will.
Al Bawaba البوابة is a news, blogging and media website headquartered in Amman, Jordan with an office in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. Al Bawaba publishes news stories related to the Middle East. It has separate English and Arabic sections.
At Al Jazeera English, we focus on people, and the events that impact their lives. We bring topics to light that often go underreported, listening to all sides of the story and giving a 'voice to the voiceless.'
Welcome to the NPR Press Room,
where you can find the latest news about what our teams are working on at every desk, across each of our bureaus and for every platform - as well as information about how you can experience it.
Founded in 2000, Iraqi News is a private English-language online newspaper that covers a range of Iraqi issues, including security, business, politics, social issues, culture, entertainment and sport. It has no link to any political party or interest group. Through its neutral reporting, Iraqi News works to promote democracy, freedom, human rights and business growth in Iraq as a post-war society. Iraqi News promises to put its readers first by providing them with true information about what is really happening in Iraq, the Middle East and beyond.
Rudaw is a Kurdish media network funded and supported by Rudaw Company. The network aims to impart news and information about Kurdistan and the Middle East in a professional manner. Those interested in Kurdistan and the Kurdish cause can follow the latest developments in the region in both Kurdish and English through Rudaw’s multiple platforms.
Globes is a Hebrew-language daily evening financial newspaper, the largest and the oldest of its kind in Israel. Globes was founded in the early 1980s and published in Tel Aviv, Israel. This link is to their English site.
Libya Herald is an English-language newspaper based in Tripoli, Libya. It was launched on 17 February 2012, the first anniversary of the outbreak of the Libyan Civil War, and currently publishes news through its website, though plans are in place to launch a print edition in the near futur
Oman Daily Observer is an English-language daily broadsheet published from Muscat, the capital of the Sultanate of Oman. Known for its objective reporting, the newspaper does not take sides in its editorials and reportage.
Saudi Gazette, established in 1978, is one of the leading English newspapers of Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Living upto its theme of “The Tone of Truth and Moderation”, it has carved a niche for itself in the Saudi media industry.
The Syria Times is an official daily e-newspaper in English, issued by Al-Wehda Establishment for Press, Printing, Publishing and Distribution, affiliated to the Ministry of Information. The daily was, due to technical reasons, closed on June 8, 2008, and re-launched on October 6, 2012 at the directives of the Syrian Minister of Information, Mr. Omran Al-Zou'bi.
SABA was founded on 16 November 1970 as the official news agency of North Yemen, and is headquartered in the capital Sana'a. On 22 May 1990 the agency was merged with the Aden News Agency (ANA) of South Yemen to create the Yemen News Agency Saba. The agency provides news on the Middle East and region. It is a member of the Federation of Arab News Agencies (FANA). On 19 January 2015, the Houthis seized the agency.The agency then split into two factions: one pro-Hadi, the other pro-Houthi.