Archives, What are they and How do we use them?

Society of American Archivists Code of Ethics for Archivists[1]

Professional Relationships

Archivists strive to cooperate and collaborate with other archivists in the profession, as well as with all individuals, communities, and organizations performing archival work. In their professional relationships with donors, records creators, users, communities, and colleagues, archivists should be as respectful, honest, transparent, empathetic, and equitable as possible.

Judgment 

While no element of archival work is unbiased or neutral, archivists still strive to exercise their ethical, professional judgment in the appraisal, acquisition, and processing of materials. Decisions should always be made mindfully, aiming to ensure the preservation, authenticity, diversity, and lasting cultural and historical value of materials. Archivists should be transparent about their role in the selection, retention, and creation of the historical record by carefully documenting all collections-related policy decisions, including preservation treatments, descriptive work, processing activities, and access guidelines. Archivists are encouraged to consult with colleagues, relevant professionals, creators, and constituent communities to ensure that diverse perspectives inform their actions and decisions throughout the stewardship process.

Authenticity 

Archivists use appraisal and evidentiary provenance documentation to provide transparent information about the authenticity and origin of archival materials. Using archival description, they document the unique archival characteristics of records, including their intellectual, digital, and physical integrity. Archivists should not willfully alter, manipulate, or destroy data or records to conceal facts or distort evidence. Archivists thoroughly document any actions they take that may cause changes to the records in their care or raise questions about the records’ authenticity.

Security and Protection 

Archivists protect all materials for which they are responsible. They guard all records against accidental damage, vandalism, and theft. They take steps to minimize the deterioration of records and implement security policies to protect all records in every format. Archivists have well-considered plans in place to respond to any situation that might threaten the safety of their holdings, their patrons, and their staff.

Access and Use 

Archivists actively promote open and equitable access to records in their care as much as possible. They strive to minimize restrictions and maximize ease of access. They facilitate the continuing accessibility of archival materials in all formats.  Archivists formulate and disseminate access policies that encourage ethical and responsible use. They work with creators, donors, organizations, and communities to ensure that any restrictions applied are appropriate, well-documented, and equitably enforced. When repositories require restrictions to protect confidential and proprietary information, such restrictions should be applied consistently. Archivists should seek to balance the principles of stewardship, access, and respect.

Privacy 

Archivists recognize that privacy is an inherent fundamental right and sanctioned by law. They establish procedures and policies to protect the interests of the donors, individuals, groups, and organizations whose public and private lives and activities are documented in archival holdings. As appropriate and mandated by law, archivists place access restrictions on collections to ensure that privacy and confidentiality are maintained, particularly for individuals and groups who have had no voice or role in collections’ creation, retention, or public use. Archivists should maintain transparency when placing these restrictions, documenting why and for how long they will be enacted. Archivists promote the respectful use of culturally sensitive materials in their care by encouraging researchers to consult with those represented by records, recognizing that privacy has both legal and cultural dimensions. Archivists respect all users’ rights to privacy by maintaining the confidentiality of their research and protecting any personal information collected about the users in accordance with their institutions’ policies.

Trust

Archivists should not take advantage of their privileged access to and control of records and collections. They execute their work knowing that they must ensure proper custody for the materials entrusted to them. Archivists should demonstrate professional integrity and avoid potential conflicts of interest. They seek to balance the rights, interests, needs, and suggestions of all people and groups affected by archival decisions.

Definitions and Archival Terminology

As compiled by the Society of American Archivists

access

n.the ability to locate relevant information through the use of catalogs, indexes, finding aids, or other tools(View Citations)the permission to locate and retrieve information for use (consultation or reference) within legally established restrictions of privacy, confidentiality, and security clearance(View Citations)Computingthe physical processes of retrieving information from storage media(View Citations)

Notes

“Access” and “accessibility” are frequently used synonymously, although “accessibility” carries the connotation of providing access to individuals with disabilities.[2]

appraisal

n.the process of identifying materials offered to an archives that have sufficient value to be accessionedthe process of determining the length of time records should be retained, based on legal requirements and on their current and potential usefulnessthe process of determining the market value of an item; monetary appraisal[3]

accession

n. the materials physically and officially transferred to a repository as a unit at a single time (View Citations) an acquisition (View Citations)v. to take intellectual and physical custody of materials, often under legal or policy authority (View Citations)

Notes

An accession, as noted in the second noun sense, is always an acquisition. That sense is more frequently used in the spoken lexicon than in the written lexicon.[4]

analytical bibliography

(also critical bibliography), n.The study of the physical characteristics of books and the process of bookmaking, especially with an eye to understanding how materials and production influence the text. A listing of works that indicates in precise details the name of the author, the exact title of the work, and publication details, and that emphasizes the material nature of the work, including the format, the pagination, typographical particulars, illustrations, and other characteristics, such as the kind of paper and binding.[5]

bias

a particular tendency, trend, inclination, feeling, or opinion, especially one that is preconceived or unreasoned: illegal bias against older job applicants; the magazine’s bias toward art rather than photography; our strong bias in favor of the idea. [6]

series

n.A group of similar records that are arranged according to a filing system and that are related as the result of being created, received, or used in the same activity; a file group; a record series. A group of items, each with its own title, also bearing a collective title for the group as a whole.

series description

n.A description of a series¹, including the title, scope and content note, size or volume, dates of the material, and arrangement.[7]

Subjectivity

adjective

placing excessive emphasis on one's own subjective moods, attitudes, opinions, etc.; unduly egocentric.

Subjective

noun

the quality of being based on or influenced by personal feelings, tastes, or opinions.

"He is the first to acknowledge the subjectivity of memories"

• • the quality of existing in someone's mind rather than the external world.

"The subjectivity of human perception"[8]