ENG 112 - Verdun - Fall 2024

Discovery search provides fast, simple access to all of our library’s full text articles (both electronic and print) through a single search box. Discovery allows users to simultaneously search across content from hundreds of academic publishers, the library catalog, and our institutional repository.

Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research

Contains full-text articles and images in the New York Times from 1851 to the present on the nytimes.com website.

Access to articles from 1923 to 1980 is limited to five per day, any other time frame provides unlimited article access.

The New York Times is a great resource for current events as well finding out how historical events were covered or received at the time they happened.

In order to access this resource you must create an account for the site, directions for doing so can be found on our FAQ page.
Access to the NY Times through the website is different from access through the Proquest database. It will not have the indexing and filters that you find in the database but it covers a larger period of time and gives you access to images.

Contains full-text articles and images in the WSJ from four years ago to the present. Click the link to create your account. Once your account has been created you are able to access the content by clicking this database link or through the WSJ home page and signing in.

On campus access to the Washington Post.com. For access from off-campus you must create an account. See the FAQ page for directions.

Full-text digital access to current issues and some backfile of 23 popular magazines.

The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary.

Full text of more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014

Vanity Fair magazine coverage from 1913 to 1936 and 1983 to 2015.