OER: Open access journals, books, and documents

Academic Commons is Columbia University's (New York) digital repository where faculty, students, and staff of Columbia and its affiliate institutions can deposit the results of their scholarly work and research. Content in Academic Commons is freely available to the public. Browse by department or subject.

African Journals OnLine (AJOL) is the world's largest and pre-eminent collection of peer-reviewed, African-published scholarly journals. AJOL enables African-origin research output available to Africans and to the rest of the world.

JASDL seeks to publish original materials to enhance the pedagogy of Analytical Sciences and related areas. An open access journal.

Access papers of the Proceedings of the APS.

BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic open access web resources. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.As the open access movement grows and prospers, more and more repository servers come into being which use the "Open Archives Initiative Protocol.

Founded by professors in 1999, bepress exists to serve academia. We deliver scholarly communications and publishing services for academic institutions, empowering their communities to showcase and share their works for maximum impact. Through our services bepress seeks to link communities of scholars, listen to their needs, and provide solutions to support emerging academic missions and goals.

Biodiversity Heritage Library, a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access.

BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 252 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.

BioOne is a global, not-for-profit collaboration bringing together scientific societies, publishers, and libraries to provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.

BMC Microbiology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on analytical and functional studies of prokaryotic and eukaryotic microorganisms, viruses and small parasites, as well as host and therapeutic responses to them and their interaction with the environment.

Digital Commons is the leading hosted institutional repository software for universities, colleges, law schools, and research centers. A Digital Commons repository showcases the breadth of scholarship produced at an institution - everything from faculty papers, student scholarship, and annual reports to open-access journals, conference proceedings, and monographs.

"The Digital Commons Network brings together scholarship from hundreds of universities and colleges, providing open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. This constantly growing body of publications is curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, and represents thousands of disciplines and subject areas—from zrchitecture to zoology."

DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. As of Oct. 2013 it includes 1585 academic peer-reviewed books from 54 publishers.

DOAJ defines open access journals as journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. Journals must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included. All scientific and scholarly subjects are covered. As of Oct. 2013 it includes 9919 journals, 5618 journals searchable at article level, 122 countries, and 1,517,811 articles.

Duke Journal of Gender Law & Policy is an interdisciplinary publication devoted to a discussion of gender, sexuality, race, and class in the context of law and public policy. Our mission is to foster debate, to publish work largely overlooked by other law reviews, and to encourage scholarship outside the bounds of conventional law school curricula.

Provides links to the world's electronic journals. From World-Wide Web Virtual Library.

Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars - from their desktop - in many subject areas: including English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

The CDL supports the University of California campus libraries in their mission of providing access to the world's knowledge for the UC campuses and the communities they serve. In so doing, it directly supports UC's mission of teaching, research, and public service.

HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Free Online Full-text Articles (List limited to journals published online with the assistance of HighWire Press) HighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science on Earth. Includes over 2,250,000 free full-text articles published online.

DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to over 322,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees.

InTech is a pioneer and world's largest multidisciplinary open access publisher of books covering the fields of science, technology and medicine. Provides free online access to high-quality research and helping leading academics to make their work visible and accessible to diverse new audiences around the world.

The Internet Archive is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.

The Journal publishes papers addressing social and political equality under the law. Gender plays a unique role in the formation of social policy, as well as the administration and development of the law. We hope that our holistic approach to legal analysis will promote the empowerment of all individuals in our society and strengthen the role of progressive perspectives in mainstream legal scholarship.

JSTAT is a multi-disciplinary, peer-reviewed international journal created by the International School for Advanced Studies (SISSA) and IOP Publishing (IOP). JSTAT covers all aspects of statistical physics, including experimental work that impacts on the subject. Request full-text articles by ILL.

LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then we release the audio files back onto the net for free. All our audio is in the public domain, so you may use it for whatever purpose you wish.

MoA is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Manuscripts Online enables you to search a diverse body of online primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500.

Find peer reviewed online teaching and learning materials. Share advice and expertise about education with expert colleagues. Be recognized for your contributions to quality education.

Unlocking Knowledge - MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. Through OCW, educators improve courses and curricula, making their schools more effective; students find additional resources to help them succeed; and independent learners enrich their lives and use the content to tackle some of our world’s most difficult challenges.

NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy. Topics covered include scientific, technical, and health-related issues. We offer more than 4,000 full-text titles in PDF format.

NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs.

OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation.

OMICS Group International is an amalgamation of Open Access publications and worldwide international science conferences and events. Established in the year 2007 with the sole aim of making the information on Sciences and technology ‘Open Access’, OMICS Group publishes 300 online open access scholarly journals in all aspects of Science, Engineering, Management and Technology journals.

OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 800 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 1,775,815 theses and dissertations.

All OHP publications are fully and rigorously peer reviewed. Journals affiliated with OHP are evaluated by OHP's editorial oversight group for scholarly excellence, editorial calibre and relevance to OHP's intellectual mission. Each OHP book series has independent review processes.

Open States is a collection of tools that make it possible for citizens to track what is happening in their state's capitol by aggregating information from all 50 states, Washington, D.C., and Puerto Rico. It is a project of the Sunlight Foundation.

Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization. The library currently includes 721 textbooks, with more being added all the time.

The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network.

The E-print Network is . . . a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels. It offers a gateway to over 35,300 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies.

PeerJ is an Open Access publisher of scholarly articles. We have two publications serving the Biological and Medical sciences: "PeerJ" (a peer-reviewed academic journal) and "PeerJ PrePrints" (an innovative ‘preprint server’). Authors pay for a lifetime membership, which gives them the ability to publish their articles with us for free.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages Institute of Philosophy, School of Advanced Study, University of London.

The Public Library of Science publishes several open access, peer-reviewed journals covering biology, medicine, genetics, and diseases.

Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture.

Project Gutenberg offers over 49,000 free, high quality ebooks. All of their titles were previously published by bona fide publishers. They digitize and proofread their online collection with the help of thousands of volunteers. Over 100,000 free ebooks are available through their Partners, Affiliates and Resources sites in Europe, Australia, Germany and Canada. Volunteers are also facilitating online publishing by contemporary authors. This service is bringing the Project Gutenberg moniker to authors in virtually any genre or subject. When you are searching for a book that you cannot find in our physical collection or in Project Gutenberg your solution is to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

PubMed Commons enables authors to share opinions and information about scientific publications in PubMed. All authors of publications in PubMed are eligible to become members. Members play a pivotal role in ensuring that PubMed Commons remains a forum for open constructive criticism and discussion of scientific issues. They can comment on any publication in PubMed, rate the helpfulness of comments, and invite other eligible authors to join.

The repository is a service of the University of Massachusetts Boston libraries. Research and scholarly output included here has been selected and deposited by the individual university departments and centers on campus. Includes journals and dissertations.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The Electronic Paper Collection contains over 391,000 downloadable full-text documents in PDF format.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database is the culmination of several decades of independent and collaborative research by scholars drawing upon data in libraries and archives around the Atlantic world.

Primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century.

An electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of psychology, neuroscience, and linguistics.

The World Bank is the largest single source of development knowledge. The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.