Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Washington and Jefferson College

OpenAthens: Linking to Library Resources

This guide provides information about OpenAthens, the library's authentication system for electronic resources.

Linking to Library Resources

A permalink (also called a persistent link, permanent link, stable link, static link, or durable link) is a URL or web address that will consistently point to a specific library resource, such as a full-text article, ebook, ejournal, streaming video, database, or record in a database.

Why should I use permalinks?

  • Permalinks are the easiest way to link to library resources in Sakai, course syllabi, reading lists, websites, and email. 
  • URLs or links that appear in the address bar of your web browser when you search the library's databases may be session-based or search-based and will not work when copied and used at a later time.
  • Linking to licensed library resources in Sakai, syllabi, and course reading lists is copyright compliant. Linking is recommended over posting digital copies of the full text of an article, a book chapter, or an image. 
  • Each time a library resource is accessed, a use for that resource is counted. The librarians gather usage statistics and consider usage when making decisions about journal or database cancelations. 

How do I create a permalink?

Each database handles permalinking differently.  Below is a list of our most commonly used resources and how to create permalinks.

Please contact asklib@washjeff.edu  or your library liaison if you need assistance.

 

EBSCO

EBSCO databases include permalink feature that allows you to quickly create permalinks, simply click the Permalink tool on the right toolbar and the permalink with be generated above the item title.

EBSCO Permalink screenshot

JSTOR

JSTOR permalinks are displayed under the publication information on the left.   JSTOR permalinks are not pre-appended with W&J's authentication information. They will resolve to the bibliographic details and abstract but not the full-text. In order to create articles that will resolve to the full-text simple copy the URL from your browser and paste it in the Create Your Own Permalinks tool.

JSTOR Permalink Screenshot

ProQuest

ProQuest database links are permalinks by default, they have W&J's institutional code embedding within the link.  You can simply cut and paste the link from the top of the All Save Options box:

Proquest Permalink Screenshot

 

Gale

Gale databases allows you to quickly create permalinks.  Simply click the "Get Link" button and a popup box will appear with the permalink.

undefined

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect links are permalinks but they are not pre-appended with W&J's authentication information. They will resolve to the bibliographic details and abstract but not the full-text. In order to create articles that will resolve to the full-text simple copy the URL from your browser and paste it in the Create Your Own Permalinks tool.

ScienceDirect Permalink

Credo

Credo allows you to quickly create permalinks.  Simply click the "Page Link" button and a popup box will appear with the permalink.

Credo Permalink

 

Linking to Library Databases

On the Library's Databases A-Z page, click on the share icon to the right of each database to get a permalink for that resource.

Linking to E-journals

From the Library's home page, click on Find Information and then Find Journals. 

Find Journals

Search for the journal title in the search box and click on the journal title:

 

Search for a journal title

Click on Permalink:

Journal Finder Permalinks