It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide will introduce you to resources you can use when doing research in American Studies.
To evaluate a source to see if it is appropriate for your work, examine its currency, relevance, authority, accuracy, and purpose. For more information, take a look at this Evaluating Sources guide by Nova Southeastern University Library.
The Amistad Research Center is committed to collecting, preserving, and providing open access to original materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.
This site provides contains both historic and present legislative information. The site provides the full-text of public laws, legislative bills (as well as summaries and status information for these bills), legislative debates, and committee reports.
This collection of historical content, organized into ten Eras, details important developments, people, events, and ideas in U.S. American History. Includes essays, primary sources, timelines, and multimedia.
Since 2010, Clemson University and the National Park Service have collaborated on the Open Parks Network, an Institute of Museum and Library Services funded project that has resulted in the digitization of over 350,000 cultural heritage objects and 1.5 million pages of gray literature housed in the libraries, museums, and archives of our nation’s parks, historic sites, and other protected areas. More than 20 national parks and other protected sites are represented in these diverse collections, as well as 2 state park systems and 3 university libraries. The Open Parks Network provides public access to high-resolution, downloadable files.
The September 11 Digital Archive uses electronic media to collect, preserve, and present the history of the September 11, 2001 attacks in New York, Virginia, and Pennsylvania and the public responses to them. Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media and American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning.