Clark Family Library: American and African American Studies: Finding Articles and Online Resources

EBSCO Discovery Service

Use EBSCO Discovery Service to search all of the Library's databases at once.

Enter keywords in the search box
After you press 'search', use filters on the left to refine results to include journal articles, full-text, and, if desired, scholarly/peer-reviewed
Click on the title to access the full text

Ethical Approach to Research

Practicing ethical research is essential regardless of the type of research you are doing. However, it is particularly critical when consider human subjects and data about them. The elements of ethical research listed below can also be used as you evaluate resources that you find.

Consider the subjectivity of the author.
Consider the time in which the resource was created.
Consider the mission and goals of the organization with which the author is affiliated (especially when thinking about research funding), and the scope and biases of the organization or journal in which the resource was published.
Address your own biases and subjectivity and the ethos, or the mission and goals, of the organization with which you are affiliated.
Respect the autonomy of the individuals in your study when using data and other primary sources.
Uphold the right of privacy of the individuals in your study when conducting original research.
Cite all sources.
Follow all copyright conditions.

What Is Ethics in Research & Why Is It Important?" by David B. Resnik
This 2020 article published by Dr. David B. Resnik outlines what research ethics are and why they are important. The article also includes links to discipline-specific ethical standards for research as well as visual representation of the core elements of ethical research, paraphrased above.

Select Resources

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
American Historical Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Includes Parts I-V of the American Antiquarian Society's collection of American periodicals from 1861-1865. Offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of people from all walks of life.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of 511 journals covering all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, plus multilingual education, health education and testing.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full-text of more than 1,030 journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Another great database to start your research.
Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources to enhance research and understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of indigenous peoples in the United States and Canada.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
Project Muse: Basic Undergraduate Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of heavily indexed and peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Database includes 340 full-text journals from 80 scholarly publishers from 1995 to present. MUSE.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. A good database to start psychology research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers about 2,600 peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, life sciences, psychology, arts, humanities, education, business, economics, and social sciences. Most articles are full-text. Use Advanced Search mode. Elsevier.
Click here for more information on the Internet Browser Requirements for ScienceDirect

Early American Studies, An Interdisciplinary Journal
This peer-reviewed, scholarly journal focuses on fostering research & scholarly inquiry into the histories & cultures of North America in the Atlantic world before 1850.
Journal of African-American Studies
Serves as a multidisciplinary forum for social scientists engaged in the analysis of the struggles and triumphs of black males. Challenges stereotypes and identifies strategies and policies that can counter the problems black men face. Peer reviewed. 06/01/2003 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year)
Journal of American Studies
This peer-reviewed, scholarly journal seeks to understand and critique the idea of "America", through international perspectives on the history, literature, politics and culture of the United States.
Journal of Black Studies
Articles containing full analytical discussion of economic, political, sociological, historical, literary and philosophical issues related to persons of African descent. Peer reviewed.
Journal of Latin American Studies
This peer-reviewed journal publishes articles relating to Latin American "economics, geography, politics, international relations, sociology, social anthropology, economic history and cultural history." The Library's access spans from 1969 - 6 years ago.
Studies in American Studies
This peer-reviewed journal publishes articles discussing film, literature, radio, television, music, graphics, the print media, and other aspects of American culture.
American Quarterly
Articles concerning areas of American life and the relation of those areas to the entire American scene and the world society. 04/01/1949 - present (Full Text Delay: 6 years)

American Memory - Library of Congress
Access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
Census Bureau
Census Bureau provides data about the nation's people and economy.
Congress.Gov
The official website for U.S. federal legislative providing access to the Congressional Record, information on Bills, Resolutions, Committees, executive communications, and treaties, plus more.
Data.gov
Data.gov is the federal goverment's central data portal.
Library of Congress Arts & Culture Collections
View collections on Architecture & Design, Folk Art, Music, Movies & Television, and more.
Open Parks Network
Since 2010, Clemson University and the National Park Service have collaborated on the Open Parks Network, an Institute of Museum and Library Services funded project that has resulted in the digitization of over 350,000 cultural heritage objects and 1.5 million pages of gray literature housed in the libraries, museums, and archives of our nation’s parks, historic sites, and other protected areas. More than 20 national parks and other protected sites are represented in these diverse collections, as well as 2 state park systems and 3 university libraries. The Open Parks Network provides public access to high-resolution, downloadable files.
Supreme Court of the United States
U.S. Supreme Court is the final appellate court of the U.S. judicial system, having the power to review and overturn the decisions of lower courts. The Supreme Court also has original jurisdiction (being the first and final court to hear a case) in certain cases involving public officials, ambassadors, or disputes between states.
White House
The White House's website provides information about executive offices and departments, the administration's initiatives, briefings, presidential remarks, and more.

American and African American Studies

What is Peer Review?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

EBSCO Discovery Service

Ethical Approach to Research

Select Resources