Clark Family Library: Art: Finding Articles, Books, Journals and Online Resources

EBSCO Discovery Service

Use EBSCO Discovery Service to search all of the Library's databases at once.

Enter keywords in the search box
After you press 'search', use filters to refine results to include journal articles, full-text, and, if desired, scholarly/peer-reviewed
Click on the title to access the full text, if available.

Art Resources at a Glance

ArtSource is a project that started in the Spring of 1994, it is a curated list of art resources available on the internet. Useful for finding articles.

Aesthetica is a UK-based arts and culture magazine that covers literature, visual arts, music, film and theatre.
In Aesthetics On-line you'll find articles about aesthetics, philosophy of art, art theory and art criticism, as well as information about aesthetics events worldwide, and links to other aesthetics-related resources on the internet, including the Aesthetics-L email discussion list.
artnet A commercial database of artwork which often includes the provenance of the work.
Artdaily First Art Newspaper on the internet, covers global art mostly commercial.

Institutional Websites

Credo Reference
This database is great for background information. It provides access to more than 630 full-text reference books and over 3 million full-text entries.
JSTOR
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
Academic Search Ultimate
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Art & Architecture Source
Covers fine and commercial art, sculpture, and additional emphasis on architecture. Offers over 63,000 art images, 600 full-text journals dating back to 1990 and more than 220 full-text books.
Gale Primary Sources
Comprehensive search of the Gale primary source databases: 17th-18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, County and Regional Histories & Atlases: Pennsylvania Digital Archive, Freedom Riders in the South, Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Punch Historical Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full-text of more than 1,030 journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Another great database to start your research.

Art in America

This magazine features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints
Cineaste

America's leading magazine on the art and politics of the cinema, offers social, political, and aesthetic perspectives on all areas of the cinema, including Hollywood films (old and new), American independent cinema, quality European films, and the cinema of developing nations. Featuring critical articles, film and book reviews, interviews, and editorial columns, Cineaste seeks to engage an intelligent audience while remaining readable for all.

Access Through Inter-library Loan

Art History

This peer-reviewed, scholarly journal contains articles on aspects of the historical and theoretical study of painting, sculpture, design and other areas of visual imagery.
Artforum International

Since 1962, Artforum has been the defining voice in contemporary art. Artforum's specially commissioned artist projects, reviews, and essays on film, music, architecture, media, and more lend a unique perspective to the fine arts and to popular culture at large.

Full details of Archives are found in the Primary Sources Tab.