Evaluating Information

Credible sources are written by authors respected in their fields of study. Responsible, credible authors will cite their sources so that you can check the accuracy of and support for what they've written.

Most information that is published on the Web is not filtered and evaluated like books, journals, magazines, or newspapers. Since there are no guidelines for publishing on the Web, it is important to evaluate Web sites before including them in a research paper or using them for other purposes.

Before using information found on the Web, there are five basic criteria to consider:

• Accuracy: it is important that the information is factual and reliable. You should question if the information was verified for accuracy before being placed on the Web. Consult print sources for verifications such as reference sources.
• Authority: be sure to question what is the author's qualification for writing on the subject. Look to see if it is clear who has responsibility for publishing the information and if there is an email address and/or resume. Determine if the publisher or company is reputable. Biographical sources are useful for getting background information on authors. Company directories and guides are useful for getting information on publishers and companies.
• Currency: determine if the content of the sources is up-to-date, if the publication date is shown, when the Web site was last updated, and the frequency for editions and revisions. Depending on the topic you are writing, time sensitive materials may be required. 
• Coverage: look at the scope of the topics and materials included in the work or website. Review the website and compare its comprehensiveness to similar sites.
• Objectivity: consider if the website shows evidence of being bias. It is important to determine what audience the site is intended for.

Source: Prince George Community College

Primary Source: First Hand, from the time the event took place

Eg. Notes, Letters, Photos, Interviews, Newspapers, Art, Film

Secondary Source: Second Hand, an analysis of events

Eg. Books, Editorials or Analysis in Newspapers, Web pages, Biographies, Dissertations, Documentary Films.

Secondary sources are published materials such as books, journals and newspapers, press releases, and authoritative web sites. Secondary sources are generally collected by libraries and are inventoried in catalogs such as the Library Catalog. Catalog content may be limited to simple citations (directing you a physical object such as a book) or it may be fully integrated with digital content such as databases or full-text journals.

Primary sources are artworks and unpublished materials such as letters and memos, draft documents, internal reports, technical drawings, and other forms of direct documentation (moving images, sound recordings, transcripts, photographs). Primary source materials are generally collected by archives and inventoried in finding aids. 

To discover archival collections, consult ArchiveGrid, a database of primary-source collection finding aids. Archival collections and finding aids are also readily discoverable through Google searches.

Source: MoMA Library