Use the search box below to search for books and eBooks in W&J's Library and Archive catalog.
Primary Source: First Hand, from the time the event took place
Eg. Notes, Letters, Photos, Interviews, Newspapers, Art, Film
Secondary Source: Second Hand, an analysis of events
Eg. Books, Editorials or Analysis in Newspapers, Web pages, Biographies, Dissertations, Documentary Films.
In the study of History secondary sources are published materials such as books, journals and newspapers, press releases, and authoritative web sites. Secondary sources are generally collected by libraries and are inventoried in catalogs such as the Library Catalog. Catalog content may be limited to simple citations (directing you a physical object such as a book) or it may be fully integrated with digital content such as databases or full-text journals.
Primary sources are artworks and unpublished materials such as letters and memos, draft documents, internal reports, technical drawings, and other forms of direct documentation (moving images, sound recordings, transcripts, photographs). Primary source materials are generally collected by archives and inventoried in finding aids.
To discover archival collections, consult ArchiveGrid, a database of primary-source collection finding aids. Archival collections and finding aids are also readily discoverable through Google searches.
Source: MoMA Library
Pittsburgh and Washington Newspapers went through various name changes throughout the years:
Pittsburgh
The Pittsburgh Courier 1911 – 1950
Pittsburgh Courier (1955 – 1966)
New Pittsburgh Courier (1966 – 1981)
New Pittsburgh Courier (1981 - )
Pittsburgh post – gazette (1993 – Present)
Washington
The Washington Reporter (August 1808--April 1967)
The Washington Observer (January 1872--December 1969)
The Observer-Reporter (January 1970--February 2018)
The Claysville Recorder (1894-1973)
The McDonald Record Outlook (1892-1983)