Data Science (DS) Guide

This wiki is a collection of open ecological datasets sponsored by the National Science Foundation.

Free world public biological data for the scientific community providing information for biodiversity research.

The US Environmental Protection Agency's hub for data concerning their enforcement of climate related policies.

NASA's NED is a comprehensive database of multiwavelength data for extragalactic objects, providing a systematic, ongoing fusion of information integrated from hundreds of large sky surveys and tens of thousands of research publications. Offers many links to research tools.

National Geophysical Data Center archives and assimilates tsunami, earthquake and volcano data to support research, planning. response and mitigation. Long-term data, including photographs, can be used to establish the history of natural hazard occurrences and help mitigate against future events.

Physical Measurement Laboratory offers links to program information, speeches, testimony, frequently asked questions.

SWPC is part of the National Weather Service and is the nation's official source of space weather alerts, watches and warnings. SWPC provides real-time monitoring and forecasting of solar and geophysical events which impact satellites, power grids, communications, navigation, and many other technological systems.

NOAA's (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) National Centers for Environmental Information is a hub of atmospheric, coastal, geophysical, and oceanic research/data, as well as general environmental data.

NGDC provides stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from our Sun to Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space.

Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references.

The Environmental Sustainability Index (ESI) is a measure of overall progress towards environmental sustainability. The index provides a composite profile of national environmental stewardship based on a compilation of indicators derived from underlying datasets. This Web site provides access to the ESI report, underlying data, and associated maps for the Pilot 2000, 2001, 2002 and 2005 versions of the ESI. The documents made available here provide in-depth details on the analytical framework, quantitative methodology, and data sources that underlie each edition of the ESI.

This data explorer searches for data from research funded by the Department of Energy. It's a helpful tool to find publicly-funded scientific research from research institutions around the country.

National Geologic Map database offers stratigraphic, topographic and geologic maps.

The US Geological Survey (USGS)'s data hub for water conditions, water flow, water quality, water use, and more.

Provides a list of links to data sets and repositories from psychological research.

Census Bureau provides data about the nation's people and economy.

Source of scholarly research and current data about US women's political participation.

CESSDA member organisations serve some 30,000+ social science and humanities researchers and students within the European Research Area each year, providing access to 25,000 data collections, delivering over 70,000 data collections per annum and acquiring a further 1,000 data collections each year.

Provides comparable estimates for party positioning on ideology, policy issues, and international relations for 112 national parties in 12 Latin American countries.

Data on government activities in over 20 countries.

This research guide created by librarians at Carleton College's Lawrence McKinley Gould Library provides a wealth of data resources on a variety of topics from government to regional data to environmental data to economic data and everything in between. You can use the side navigation tab to switch between topics. Please ignore any resources that have a penguin icon next to them, as those require a Carleton login to access.

Academic Survey of the American public and resource for academic researchers and the public for understanding public opinion and American elections.

Data on voting, public opinion, and political participation.

Numerical ratings and supporting descriptive texts for 195 countries and 13 territories.

GSS is a representative study of adults in the US that has been ongoing since 1972. It is conducted by the nonpartisan and objective research organization, NORC at the University of Chicago.

Provides US Census data, including decennial censuses from 1790 to 2010 and American Community Surveys (ACS) from 2000 to the present.

Database of political manifestos as well as election performance compiled by the Manifesto Research on Political Representation project.

Non partisan American think tank based in Washington DC that provides information on social issues, public opinion, and demographic trends shaping the US and the world.

A comprehensive database of lobbying/special interest contributions in American politics from 1999-present. They have easy to use search functions, visualizations, and data available for download. LobbyView is run by Dr. In Song Kim and his team at MIT, and is co-sponsored by MIT, the National Science Foundation, and the Russel Sage Foundation.

Project hosted at Syracuse University that curates and hosts data from qualitative social science projects.

Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau, including data from censuses and surveys.

Voteview is a data visualization resource that allows users to view congressional roll call votes on a map of the United States and on a liberal-conservative ideological map.

International research program devoted to the scientific and academic study of social, political, economic, religious, and cultural values of people in the world.

Multi-dimensional and disaggregated dataset that reflects the complexity of the concept of democracy.

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used.

An archive of the CDC's Data and Statistics portal.

CDC Wonder is a repository of public health data curated around several subjects including Chronic Conditions, Communicable Diseases, Health Practice and Prevention, and more.

Online resource for US disability statistics, affiliated with Cornell University.

Global Health Exchange is a repository of health-related data including surveys, censuses, and vital statistics from around the world.

The Department of Health and Human Services' Health Data portal aimed at increasing accessibility for researchers.

Data Collection on LGBT health and well-being.

National Ambulatory Medical Care Survey. Data about patients who visit health centers, the experiences of office based healthcare providers working with patients in office-based healthcare settings.

The National Center for Health Statistics is part of the CDC. They conduct regular health surveys, which are available online along with other health-related datasets.

SAMHA is a subset of the US Department of Health and Human Services. This data search tool can be helpful for finding data related to substance abuse, mental illness, or the treatments for either of the former two topics.

WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. The aim of the GHO portal is to provide easy access to: country data and statistics with a focus on comparable estimates; and WHO’s analyses to monitor global, regional and country situation and trends.

A repository of Federal Reserve data organized into a variety of topics such as Bank Assets, Household Finance, and Interest Rates.

Federal Reserve Economic Data. You can download, graph, and track 213,000 US and international time series from 65 sources. Includes CPI, GDP, employment and much more.

This gender data portal is a one-stop shop for gender information, catering to a wide range of users and providing data from a variety of sources. Data at the country level are organized under six thematic headings, which are aligned to the themes identified by the Inter-agency and Expert Group on Gender Statistics.

Provides a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.

Database containing hundreds of statistical time series for the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development and non-member counties. Covers topics such as agriculture, development, finance, and government.

Database covering trends and emerging issues in agriculture, food, the environment, and rural America.

The World Bank offers detailed data about people, environment, economy, states and markets, and global links.

Comprehensive platform for financial market data, real time quotes, news, analysis, and tools for managing investments, stock quotes, press releases, and financial reports.

Provides American and international data collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.

College Scorecard is a resource created by the Department of Education to help high school students make an informed decision about where to attend college. The data behind the tool is also publicly available. You can download institutional data, field of study data, and comparison data with other higher educational data surveys.

Data and statistics resources that collect and analyze data for use by the public and researchers.

A primary source focused on the collection, compilation, processing, and analysis of information about U.S. public schools.

Open data catalog that brings together the U.S. Department of Education's data assets in a single location, making them available with their metadata, documentation and APIs for use by the public

World's leading data source on children used by 3 million people globally.

Over 4,000 internationally comparable indicators that describe education access, progression, completion, literacy, teachers, population, and expenditures.

Datasets across a variety of sports for use in statistics and Data Science education, inspired by CMU S&DS Data Repository.

Sports datasets provided by The Ohio State University.

A collection of datasets across a variety of sports for use in Statistics and Data Science.

Privately owned company that provides comprehensive databases of sports statistics.

Peer reviews and literary/cultural data circa 1800-1900.

DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used. It is a portal that delivers students, teachers, scholars, and the public to incredible resources on a platform that enables new and transformative uses of our digitized cultural heritage.

Collaborative effort centered at Northwestern University and Washington University that transforms the early English print record into a linguistically annotated and searchable text archive.

Metadata co-managed by the British Library and the UCR Riverside's Center for Bibliographical Studies and Research.

Europeana is a cultural heritage repository funded by the European Union. Many of the works available in the repository are open access or published with Creative Commons licenses, but double check a resource or dataset's copyright status before using it.

The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Free and open access to a vast array of digitized materials, including books, manuscripts, photographs, maps, and sound recordings, showcasing American History and creativity.

US government's collection of documents that records important events in American History.

Data collection, analysis, and evaluation of NEH activities.

Peer reviews and literary/cultural data from 1945 to the present.

Project Gutenberg offers over 49,000 free, high quality ebooks. All of their titles were previously published by bona fide publishers. They digitize and proofread their online collection with the help of thousands of volunteers. Over 100,000 free ebooks are available through their Partners, Affiliates and Resources sites in Europe, Australia, Germany and Canada. Volunteers are also facilitating online publishing by contemporary authors. This service is bringing the Project Gutenberg moniker to authors in virtually any genre or subject. When you are searching for a book that you cannot find in our physical collection or in Project Gutenberg your solution is to request it by Interlibrary Loan.

Collection of over 10,000 out-of-copyright works.

Digital publisher known for data journalism and visual essays.