Artists use of Archives & an Archival Aesthetic
Artists’ may use the method and theory of archives in their practice
Collecting, arranging, describing, objects
The artist using an archival aesthetic 'as seeking to make historical information often lost or displaced, physically present.'
- Foster, 'An Archival Impulse', October, Autumn, 2004.
Primary Source: First Hand, from the time the event took place
Eg. Notes, Letters, Photos, Interviews, Newspapers, Art, Film
Secondary Source: Second Hand, an analysis of events
Eg. Books, Editorials or Analysis in Newspapers, Web pages, Biographies, Dissertations, Documentary Films.
In the study of Art secondary sources are published materials such as books, journals and newspapers, press releases, and authoritative web sites. Secondary sources are generally collected by libraries and are inventoried in catalogs such as the Library Catalog. Catalog content may be limited to simple citations (directing you a physical object such as a book) or it may be fully integrated with digital content such as databases or full-text journals.
Primary sources are the artworks themselves and unpublished materials such as letters and memos, draft documents, internal reports, technical drawings, and other forms of direct documentation (moving images, sound recordings, transcripts, photographs). Primary source materials are generally collected by archives and inventoried in finding aids.
To discover archival collections, consult ArchiveGrid, a database of primary-source collection finding aids. Archival collections and finding aids are also readily discoverable through Google searches.
Source: MoMA Library
The epic life of a world-class artist, jammed into six minutes. Narrated by Tom Waits. Commissioned by LACMA for their first annual "Art + Film Gala" honoring John Baldessari and Clint Eastwood. directed by Henry Joost & Ariel Schulman (http://gosupermarche.com/) edited by Max Joseph (http://www.maxjoseph.com/) written by Gabriel Nussbaum (http://www.bankstreetfilms.com) cinematography by Magdalena Gorka (http://magdalenagorka.com/) & Henry Joost produced by Mandy Yaeger & Erin Wright Thank you to John Baldessari and his studio. (http://www.baldessari.org/)
Yoko Ono was an established artist before most of the world heard of her in 1968, and she continues to make groundbreaking work to this day. Who is Yoko Ono? What is her work? And why should you take her seriously? This is the case for Yoko Ono.