The resources described in these tables represent an incomplete list of tools. For a living document that tracks generative AI products we recommend The Generative AI Product Tracker maintained by Ithaka S+R.
As generative AI becomes more integrated in online search tools, even the very early stages of research and topic development could incorporate AI. If you have any questions about using these tools for your research, please Email a Librarian.
Not all generative AI tools are created to help with research. Some of the most popular AI tools have been created to give natural human language responses to the users prompt. In doing so they can be prone to bias, misinformation, and hallucinations. As with all information you interact with, we strongly encourage you to evaluate AI responses for accuracy and relevancy to your information need.
If you want to use AI to assist with your research, consider using the tools below which have been specifically developed for research. Many of these tools have been around for several years and have been created by non-profits with the goal of making research more efficient.
AI tools for research can help you to discover new sources for your literature review or research assignment. These tools will synthesize information from large databases of scholarly output with the aim of finding the most relevant articles and saving researchers' time. As with our research databases or any other search tool, however, it's important not to rely on one tool for all of your research, as you will risk missing important information on your topic of interest.
| NAME | WHAT IT DOES | UNDERLYING DATA | IS IT FREE? | MORE INFORMATION |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Elicit | Using large language models (LLMs), Elicit finds papers relevant to your topic by searching through papers and citations and extracting and synthesizing key information. | Semantic Scholar Database | Free trial available. Pay for credits after trial expires. | Elicit FAQs |
| Consensus | Similar to Elicit, Consensus uses LLMs to help researchers find and synthesize answers to research questions, focusing on the scholarly authors' findings and claims in each paper. | Semantic Scholar Database | Free (20 searches/month); Paid version allows unlimited searching. | Consensus FAQs |
| Semantic Scholar | Semantic Scholar (which supplies underlying data for many of the other tools on this list) provides brief summaries ('TLDR's) of the main objectives and results of papers. | Semantic Scholar Database | Semantic Scholar is currently free. | Semantic Scholar FAQs |
| Research Rabbit | Research Rabbit is a citation-based mapping tool that focuses on the relationships between research works. It uses visualizations to help researchers find similar papers and other researchers in their field. | Research Rabbit uses multiple databases, but does not name them (more information can be found on the FAQ page). | Research Rabbit is currently free. | Research Rabbit FAQs |
| Connected Papers | Like Research Rabbit, Connected Papers focuses on the relationships between research papers to find similar research. You can also use Connected Papers to get a visual overview of an academic field. | Semantic Scholar Database | Free (5 graphs/month); paid version allows unlimited graphing. | Connected Papers - About |
| scite | scite has a suite of products that help researchers develop their topics, find papers, and search citations in context (describing whether the article provides supporting or contrasting evidence) | Many different sources (an incomplete list can be found on this page) | No. (Pricing information) | scite FAQs; how scite works |
| Scholarcy | Scholarcy summarizes key points and claims of articles into 'summary cards' that researchers can read, share, and annotate when compiling research on a given topic. | Scholarcy only uses research papers uploaded or linked by the researcher themselves. It works as a way to help you read and summarize your research, but is not a search engine. | Free (short articles only); Paid version allows articles of any length. | Scholarcy FAQs |
| NAME | WHAT IT DOES | IS IT FREE? |
MORE INFORMATION |
| ChatGPT | While the AI chatbot ChatGPT is typically thought of as a writing tool, it can be used in the initial idea development phase of research, and can also be of use in finding further sources. (Remember to always look up sources to verify their credibility.) | There is a free version available. | OpenAI Help Center - ChatGPT |
| DALL-E | DALL-E 3, is an AI model adept at generating images from textual descriptions. DALL-E is included with ChatGPT platform and is not stand alone. This tool excels in creating high-resolution, artistic, and often surreal images, catering to needs in art, design, and visual content generation. | Limited access to image generation through ChatGPT with the free plan. | |
| Gemini | Designed by Google, Gemini (formerly Bard) is an AI-powered chatbot that responds to natural language queries with relevant information. As with ChatGPT, researchers can use Gemini to aid in topic development and initial source discovery. | Gemini is currently free to use. (Personal Google account required) | Gemini FAQ |
| Midjourney | Midjourney stands as a generative AI tool focused on image generation, distinguished by its specialized algorithms and output quality. It is designed to create compelling visual content based on various inputs, finding its use in art, design, and content creation. | No | Midjourney FAQs |
| Perplexity | Using LLMs, perplexity is a search engine that provides AI-generated answers (much like ChatGPT) including citations which are linked above the summaries. | Free with paid subscriptions available. | Perplexity FAQs |