Finding Resources - ENG 111 - Eakins Spring 2024 - Clark Family Library at Washington & Jefferson College

What kind of resources do I need?

Professor Eakins has asked that for your Proposal Argument assignment that you include:

"2 Books (either eBook or print), 2 Periodicals (magazines, newspapers, academic journals), 2 Advanced sources (academic journals or legal sources), and 2 Other sources (may include web sources, a repeat of previous source types, etc.)."

Below are lists of some recommended databases and publications to get you started. The Library's Discovery Search is also a good place to start searching, as it searches nearly all of the library's databases and physical collections.

Academic Journals

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text from over 5200 journals, magazines, and trade publications covering business, economics, finance, marketing and more, plus detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, and products, for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full-text of journal articles and reports on education topics. Database covers 100,000 sources with 1.1 million records.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full-text of more than 1,030 journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Another great database to start your research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Database provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Covers ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, and logic.
PLoS This link opens in a new window
Public Library of Science is a nonprofit organization that publishes freely available open access journals covering all aspects of life science and medicine. PLoS publishes peer-reviewed scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles.
Project Muse: Basic Undergraduate Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of heavily indexed and peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Database includes 340 full-text journals from 80 scholarly publishers from 1995 to present. MUSE.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. A good database to start psychology research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed offers access to the NLM MEDLINE database. Has citations and abstracts from biomedical literature. Some articles are full-text. NLM.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers about 2,600 peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, life sciences, psychology, arts, humanities, education, business, economics, and social sciences. Most articles are full-text. Use Advanced Search mode. Elsevier.
Click here for more information on the Internet Browser Requirements for ScienceDirect

Books

User Services
by Ronalee Ciocco Last Updated Jul 6, 2023 41 views this year

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Full text access to over 200,000 e-books covering all academic subject areas.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
More than 850 eBooks and 3,900 publicly accessible eBooks are available to W&J ID card holders through our subscription. eBooks cover topics such as: business, health, and science. Browse holdings in Geotom catalog by typing NetLibrary as author.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Gale Virtual Library (GVRL), this database is an online library of reference eBooks, including many titles from academic book publishers. The database is multidisciplinary with strengths in world and American history, literature, and economics. A great database to start your research.

Google Books
Google Books contains millions of scanned books. You can read the full-text or do a keyword search of many of the books.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
A partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Use the links below to access books that W&J does not own:

Citizens Library
Citizens Library is the public library located at 55 S. College Street at the corner of E. Wheeling Street. Go to their website for hours, their online catalog and other information. They also have a good collection of popular fiction. All you need is your W&J ID to get a Citizen's library card.
E-ZBorrow
E-ZBorrow is the fastest way for W&J Students, Faculty, and Staff to borrow books that may not be available at the Clark Family Library. You can simultaneously search and request books from more than 50 academic library catalogs throughout Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, and West Virginia.
WorldCat
WorldCat is a global catalog of library collections. Find items we don't own and then request them through ILL.

Geotom Catalog

Use the search box below to search for books and eBooks in W&J's catalog.

GeoTom Catalog

Learn more about your library account

Periodicals

Chronicle of Higher Education
A great place to find articles pertaining to issues facing higher education.
The Atlantic Monthly
The Atlantic is a monthly literary & cultural commentary magazine.

Flipster This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital access to current issues and some backfile of 23 popular magazines.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of more than 2800 global news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, and transcripts. Find full text (no images) of the New Pittsburgh Courier, the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post here. Coverage dates vary.

The Nation
The Nation is a weekly magazine covering political and cultural news, analysis, & opinion.
New Pittsburgh Courier
The New Pittsburgh Courier is a weekly African American newspaper based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States. It is owned by Real Times.
The New Yorker
The New Yorker is a weekly magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.

New York Times (Website Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles and images in the New York Times from 1851 to the present on the nytimes.com website.

Access to articles from 1923 to 1980 is limited to five per day, any other time frame provides unlimited article access.

The New York Times is a great resource for current events as well finding out how historical events were covered or received at the time they happened.

In order to access this resource you must create an account for the site, directions for doing so can be found on our FAQ page.
Access to the NY Times through the website is different from access through the Proquest database. It will not have the indexing and filters that you find in the database but it covers a larger period of time and gives you access to images.

Observer Reporter
Daily newspaper reporting news in Washington and Greene counties of Pennsylvania.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Post-Gazette reports news of Pittsburgh the southwestern Pennsylvania.
The Red & Black
The Red & Black is the W&J student newspaper.

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that includes more than 80 regional business publications covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States and Canada. Most of these sources are in full-text from 1996 to current.
Wall Street Journal (Website Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles and images in the WSJ from four years ago to the present. Click the link to create your account. Once your account has been created you are able to access the content by clicking this database link or through the WSJ home page and signing in.
Washington Post (Website subscription) This link opens in a new window
On campus access to the Washington Post.com. For access from off-campus you must create an account. See the FAQ page for directions.

Legal Sources

Congress.gov
This site provides contains both historic and present legislative information. The site provides the full-text of public laws, legislative bills (as well as summaries and status information for these bills), legislative debates, and committee reports.
PA General Assembly
The PA General Assembly's website includes links to the Pennsylvania Code, Bulletin, and Statutes.
The Supreme Court Database
Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court.
Supreme Court of the United States
U.S. Supreme Court is the final appellate court of the U.S. judicial system, having the power to review and overturn the decisions of lower courts. The Supreme Court also has original jurisdiction (being the first and final court to hear a case) in certain cases involving public officials, ambassadors, or disputes between states.
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs
A research guide produced by the Law Library of Congress on how to find case information, including oral arguments, briefs, and dockets (official summaries), from the U.S. Supreme Court.
United States Reports - Library of Congress
The United States Reports are the bound, official reports of decisions and opinions from the U.S. Supreme Court. You can explore the reports by date, case topic, or authoring justice, among other filters using the "Collection Items" tab.
United States Statutes at Large - Library of Congress
"The United States Statutes at Large is the collection of every law, public and private, ever enacted by the Congress, published in order of the date of its passage" ("About This Collection"). This collection is digitized from 1789-1951.

ENG 111 - Eakins Spring 2024

What is Peer Review?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)