Finding Articles - ENG 111 - Bode Spring 2023 - Clark Family Library at Washington & Jefferson College

What kind of articles do I need to find?

Professor Bode has asked you to use "[...] secondary sources (articles, studies, data, reviews, etc.)" for this assignment.

Below is a list of some recommended databases and publications to get you started. The Library's Discovery Search is also a good place to start searching, as it searches nearly all of the library's databases and physical collections.

Suggested Databases and Publications

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to over 12,000 journals, including more than 10,000 peer-reviewed titles. A great database to start your research
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text from over 5200 journals, magazines, and trade publications covering business, economics, finance, marketing and more, plus detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, and products, for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies.

Chronicle of Higher Education
A great place to find articles pertaining to issues facing higher education.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full-text of journal articles and reports on education topics. Database covers 100,000 sources with 1.1 million records.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Full-text digital access to current issues and some backfile of 23 popular magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full-text of 550 scholarly journals focusing on many nursing and allied health, and medical disciplines. includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full-text of more than 1,030 journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Another great database to start your research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's Medline offers abstracts from all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, psychiatry, toxicology, and health service administration. Database covers 19,000 sources from 1950 to present. NLM.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts. Covers 4,400 international journals with 1.8 million citations from the mid 1920s to present. Provides links to full-text of more than 140,000 articles.
PLoS This link opens in a new window
Public Library of Science is a nonprofit organization that publishes freely available open access journals covering all aspects of life science and medicine. PLoS publishes peer-reviewed scientific and medical journals that include original research as well as timely feature articles.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles on psychology from American Psychological Association (APA) journals from 1894 to present.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. A good database to start psychology research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed offers access to the NLM MEDLINE database. Has citations and abstracts from biomedical literature. Some articles are full-text. NLM.

The Nation
The Nation is a weekly magazine covering political and cultural news, analysis, & opinion.
The New Yorker
The New Yorker is a weekly magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.

New York Times (Website Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles and images in the New York Times from 1851 to the present on the nytimes.com website.

Access to articles from 1923 to 1980 is limited to five per day, any other time frame provides unlimited article access.

The New York Times is a great resource for current events as well finding out how historical events were covered or received at the time they happened.

In order to access this resource you must create an account for the site, directions for doing so can be found on our FAQ page.
Access to the NY Times through the website is different from access through the Proquest database. It will not have the indexing and filters that you find in the database but it covers a larger period of time and gives you access to images.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers about 2,600 peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, life sciences, psychology, arts, humanities, education, business, economics, and social sciences. Most articles are full-text. Use Advanced Search mode. Elsevier.
Click here for more information on the Internet Browser Requirements for ScienceDirect
Wall Street Journal (Website Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles and images in the WSJ from four years ago to the present. Click the link to create your account. Once your account has been created you are able to access the content by clicking this database link or through the WSJ home page and signing in.
Washington Post (Website subscription) This link opens in a new window
On campus access to the Washington Post.com. For access from off-campus you must create an account. See the FAQ page for directions.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Data and mapping application that provides access to over 60,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more that enables creation of maps, tables, and reports.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
ICPSR, the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, offers a large social science data archive. It acts as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources in sociology. ICPSR.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If you find an article that you believe will be useful for your research and it is behind a paywall, please submit a request for the article via Interlibrary Loan. You can complete the ILL form here: http://libguides.washjeff.edu/ill

Articles are scanned and shared as PDFs. Typically you'll receive your article within 48 hours and then the PDF is yours to keep. There is no charge for ILL requests and no limit to how many requests you can make.

Need help? Just ask! Librarians can typically determine whether or not we have full-text access to an article very quickly. If we don't have it, we'll help you complete the ILL form.

ENG 111 - Bode Spring 2023

What is Peer Review?

Infographic

What kind of articles do I need to find?

Suggested Databases and Publications

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)