ENG 155 (Harding)

The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary.

Searchable full-text archive covering 1910-1975.

This database is great for background information. It provides access to more than 630 full-text reference books and over 3 million full-text entries. It covers literary criticism in detail, business, history, Shakespeare, biographies. Credo.

Full text of more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014

Esquire Magazine Archive, 1933-2014, delivers coverage of the award-winning American men’s magazine in the areas of politics, men’s fashion, entertainment, fiction and pop culture. It includes more than 900 issues providing a broad view of 20th-Century American thought through cultural and current events.

Esquire Magazine Archive is valuable to researchers of 20th-Century current events, gender issues, politics and culture, the history of business, advertising, and more.

Formerly known as Gale Virtual Library (GVRL), this database is an online library of reference eBooks, including many titles from academic book publishers. The database is multidisciplinary with strengths in world and American history, literature, and economics. A great database to start your research.

Life Magazine Archive, covering 1936-2000

Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November, 1936 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format.

Searchable full-text of more than 2800 global news sources including newspapers, newswires, news journals, and transcripts. Find full text (no images) of the New Pittsburgh Courier, the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, and the Washington Post here. Coverage dates vary.

Full text of Jet magazine 1951-2014 covering art, news, politics, fashion, entertainment, and other social topics with an African-American focus.

Full-text of 28 national and international newspapers, selected full-text for more than 260 regional newspapers, and some full-text television and radio news transcripts. Coverage varies by newspaper with some beginning 2000 to present.

Contains searchable full-text articles from the New York Times newspaper from 1980-present. We also have access to the New York Times through their website which covers back to 1851. Since this content is in a database you may find that it's easier to search and filter than nytimes.com. Content discovered through this database will not have images included but articles through nytimes.com will.

Contains full-text articles and images in the New York Times from 1851 to the present on the nytimes.com website.

Access to articles from 1923 to 1980 is limited to five per day, any other time frame provides unlimited article access.

The New York Times is a great resource for current events as well finding out how historical events were covered or received at the time they happened.

In order to access this resource you must create an account for the site, directions for doing so can be found on our FAQ page.
Access to the NY Times through the website is different from access through the Proquest database. It will not have the indexing and filters that you find in the database but it covers a larger period of time and gives you access to images.

Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive, covers 1954-2000

Time Magazine Archive, covering 1923-2000

Database contains searchable full-text of articles from 1984 to present from the Wall Street Journal, the world's leading business and financial newspaper. ProQuest.

Contains full-text articles and images in the WSJ from four years ago to the present. Click the link to create your account. Once your account has been created you are able to access the content by clicking this database link or through the WSJ home page and signing in.

Searchable full-text archive covering 1877-2003.

On campus access to the Washington Post.com. For access from off-campus you must create an account. See the FAQ page for directions.