Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Clark Family Library

FYS 199-20 Gagged for it, Sis (Young) Fall 2021

Infographic

Articles, Journals, and databases infographic

Click on the infographic for it to open in a new tab.

Infographic (Text Version)

Articles on similar topics are collected into journals, which are collected into databases.

Articles typically:

  • Are papers written by scholars
  • Are focused on very specific topics
  • Are considered academic resources
  • Include citations and bibliographies
  • Are short in length, ranging from a few to around 30 pages

Journals typically:

  • Contain multiple articles
  • Are periodicals (published at consistent intervals) like newspapers and magazines
  • Are focused on a specific subject area
  • Can be available online and/or in print

Databases typically:

  • Contain multiple journals
  • Are accessible online through the library
  • Are searchable by journal or article
  • Can be subject specific or general
  • Provide either citations to specific articles and/or full-text

Why use articles?

Journal article front pagesAcademic articles are good resources because:

  • They provide information about specific and recent topics
  • They include bibliographies to refer you to additional information
  • Many articles are scholarly or peer-reviewed, meaning they have been critically reviewed by experts to ensure they are of highest quality and especially suitable for academic resources.

Image from George Mason University, Guide on the Side.

Peer Review

Suggested Resources

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If you find an article that you believe will be useful for your research and it is behind a paywall, please submit a request for the article via Interlibrary Loan. You can complete the ILL form here: http://libguides.washjeff.edu/ill

Articles are scanned and shared as PDFs. Typically you'll receive your article within 48 hours and then the PDF is yours to keep. There is no charge for ILL requests and no limit to how many requests you can make.  

Need help? Just ask! Librarians can typically determine whether or not we have full-text access to an article very quickly. If we don't have it, we'll help you complete the ILL form.