It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In all instances where human values, personality and behaviors are in-congruent with those that are desired, a new level of consciousness is required. And for over a hundred-thousand years, humans have effectively used narratives to develop the type and level of consciousness necessary to achieve their goals and objectives. As such, human consciousness is developed based on the narrative that dominates the mind. Therefore the creation of any level of consciousness requires a narrator with the necessary authority to create, authorize and propagate the requisite narrative.
Consequently, Atlanta Black Star was created to publish empowering narratives for all people of African descent and everyone who adheres to our culture.
As an innovative and life-changing network, BNC’s mission is to provide intelligent programming that is informative, educational, entertaining, inspiring and empowering to its African American audience. BNC is an independent network, minority-owned and operated. BNC is the nation’s only provider of 24/7 cable news programming created “by people of color for people of color.” BNC illuminates truth by authentically representing our dynamic African American communities.
Blavity is a community of the most exceptional multi-cultural creators and influencers in the world. We partner with diverse content creators and influencers to help them reach a wider audience, amplify their message, and fund their hustles. We believe that the world shifts according to the way people see it— and if you change the way people view the world, you can transform it.
TheGrio's editorial mandate is to "focus on news and events that have a unique interest and/or pronounced impact within the national African Americans audience," offering what co-founder, and Executive Editor David Wilson feels "are underrepresented in existing national news outlets".
NewsOne.com is your destination for news and information for and about Blacks in America. Filled with original stories, diverse opinions, photos, videos and polls, NewsOne is dedicated to deepening out audiences’ understanding about current events and their impact on black lives.
While the Amsterdam News is “The New Black View,” it remains keenly aware and respectful of the fact that it serves an increasingly multi-racial and multi-ethnic community in New York and beyond. Today, the New York Amsterdam News remains the voice of one of the largest and most influential Black communities in the country and the world.
The Root is an African-American-oriented online magazine. It was launched on January 28, 2008, by Henry Louis Gates Jr. and Donald E. Graham. It was owned by Graham Holdings Company through its online subsidiary, The Slate Group. In 2015, Graham Holdings sold The Root to Univision Communications.
Contains full-text articles and images in the New York Times from 1851 to the present on the nytimes.com website.
Access to articles from 1923 to 1980 is limited to five per day, any other time frame provides unlimited article access.
The New York Times is a great resource for current events as well finding out how historical events were covered or received at the time they happened.
In order to access this resource you must create an account for the site, directions for doing so can be found on our FAQ page.
Access to the NY Times through the website is different from access through the Proquest database. It will not have the indexing and filters that you find in the database but it covers a larger period of time and gives you access to images.
Contains full-text articles and images in the WSJ from four years ago to the present. Click the link to create your account. Once your account has been created you are able to access the content by clicking this database link or through the WSJ home page and signing in.
CBS News is the news division of the American television and radio service CBS. CBS News television programs include the CBS Evening News, CBS This Morning, news magazine programs CBS News Sunday Morning, 60 Minutes, and 48 Hours, and Sunday morning political affairs program Face the Nation.
CNN is an American news-based pay television channel owned by CNN Worldwide, a unit of the WarnerMedia News & Sports division of AT&T's WarnerMedia. CNN was founded in 1980 by American media proprietor Ted Turner as a 24-hour cable news channel.
NBC News is the news division of the American broadcast television network NBC. The division operates under NBCUniversal Television and Streaming, a division of NBCUniversal, which is, in turn, a subsidiary of Comcast. The news division's various operations report to the president of NBC News, Noah Oppenheim.
National Public Radio is an American privately and publicly funded non-profit media organization based in Washington, D.C. NPR differs from other non-profit membership media organizations, such as AP, in that it was established by an act of Congress and most of its member stations are owned by government entities
For more than 40 years, millions of Americans and citizens of the world have turned to the PBS NewsHour for the solid, reliable reporting that has made it one of the most trusted news programs on television.