It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FYS 199-12: Monster Culture (Mayer) Fall 2020
Resources for students enrolled in Professor Mayer's Monster Culture First Year Seminar.
From vampires and demons to ghosts and zombies, interest in monsters in literature, film, and popular culture has never been stronger. This concise Encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market.
This database is great for background information. It provides access to more than 630 full-text reference books and over 3 million full-text entries. It covers literary criticism in detail, business, history, Shakespeare, biographies. Credo.
Entries examine topical essays, recent phenomena, concepts, cults, prominent individuals and personalities, organizations and publications, as well as providing entries tracing the development of occultism and parapsychology in particular countries. In certain controversial areas, the case both for and against has been indicated, with sources noted for further study.
Formerly known as Gale Virtual Library (GVRL), this database is an online library of reference eBooks, including many titles from academic book publishers. The database is multidisciplinary with strengths in world and American history, literature, and economics. A great database to start your research.
Responding to the surging interest among students for information on topics relating to magic, witchcraft, the supernatural and other mysterious phenomena, Gale presents this in-depth, comprehensive 3-vol. set. Information is arranged in an objective manner, presenting varying viewpoints when appropriate.
Covers topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film, music, print culture, social life, sports, television and radio, and art and performance (including theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance).
If you can't find what you're looking for or want additional help with your assignments, contact us!
Visit us at the User Services Desk. Librarians usually sit at the lower part of the counter.