Finding Articles - ENG 112 - Drew-Bear Spring 2024 - Clark Family Library at Washington & Jefferson College

Where can I find articles?

Per Professor Drew-Bear's instructions for your second writing assignment, you must choose, "...an article in a scholarly or credible publication source."

Try searching some of the suggested publications below or start with the Library's Discovery Tool to find an appropriate article.

Suggested Databases & Publications

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Premiere is a multidisciplinary database that covers over 4000 journals. It's a great place to start research.

The Atlantic Monthly
The Atlantic is a monthly literary & cultural commentary magazine.

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full-text from over 5200 journals, magazines, and trade publications covering business, economics, finance, marketing and more, plus detailed company information on finances, subsidiaries, and products, for more than 1.1 million of the world’s largest public and private companies.
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A great place to find articles pertaining to issues facing higher education.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Database from the American Economics Association provides full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, economic forecasting, labor economics and monetary theory. 1969 to present.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full-text of journal articles and reports on education topics. Database covers 100,000 sources with 1.1 million records.
Flipster This link opens in a new window
Browse the full-text of 23 popular and trade magazines, like Entertainment Weekly, Sports Illustrated, The New Yorker, Forbes, Columbia Journalism Review, and more. The Flipster platform allows you to view and page through the issue, just like you would with a print magazine.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources), Gale in Context: Environmental Studies is a multidisciplinary research database that covers environment, energy and natural resources. Offers international coverage and includes articles from 700 authoritative journals plus newspapers, videos, podcasts, images.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Humanities International Complete covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Provides full-text of more than 1,030 journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Another great database to start your research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full- text of back issues of peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. Multidisciplinary.

The Nation
The Nation is a weekly magazine covering political and cultural news, analysis, & opinion.

New York Times (Website Subscription) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is one of the most respected newspapers in the nation. It is a great resource for current and historical events.

The New Yorker
The New Yorker is a weekly magazine featuring journalism, commentary, criticism, essays, fiction, satire, cartoons, and poetry.

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Data and mapping application that provides access to over 60,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more that enables creation of maps, tables, and reports.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is a resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, and is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s. A good database to start psychology research.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed offers access to the NLM MEDLINE database. Has citations and abstracts from biomedical literature. Some articles are full-text. NLM.

Rolling Stone
The music lovers magazine! Rock & Roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and the music charts. Find out where your favorite group stands in the ratings

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers about 2,600 peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, life sciences, psychology, arts, humanities, education, business, economics, and social sciences. Most articles are full-text. Use Advanced Search mode. Elsevier.
Click here for more information on the Internet Browser Requirements for ScienceDirect
Wall Street Journal (Website Subscription) This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text articles and images in the WSJ from four years ago to the present. Click the link to create your account. Once your account has been created you are able to access the content by clicking this database link or through the WSJ home page and signing in.
Washington Post (Website subscription) This link opens in a new window
On campus access to the Washington Post.com. For access from off-campus you must create an account. See the FAQ page for directions.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window
Grove Music Online is an online resource that covers all aspects of music. Database includes the full-text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2nd ed., plus additional music texts. GMO offers over 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If you find an article that you believe will be useful for your research and it is behind a paywall, please submit a request for the article via Interlibrary Loan. You can complete the ILL form here: http://libguides.washjeff.edu/ill

Articles are scanned and shared as PDFs. Typically you'll receive your article within 48 hours and then the PDF is yours to keep. There is no charge for ILL requests and no limit to how many requests you can make.

Need help? Just ask! Librarians can typically determine whether or not we have full-text access to an article very quickly. If we don't have it, we'll help you complete the ILL form.