Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Clark Family Library

Primary and Secondary Sources and finding Archival Material

Primary Sources for Historical Study

This guide will introduce you to Primary resources you can use for History

First we need to understand the difference between Primary and Secondary Sources. Watch this short video from the Gale Family Library on the topic.

Archive Databases

International Archival Institutional Databases

 

Library of Congress Research and Reference Service 

https://www.loc.gov/rr/ 

 

Library of Congress Fenton Crimean War Photographs 

https://www.loc.gov/collections/fenton-crimean-war-photographs/ 

 

The National Archives of the United Kingdom 

https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/crimean-war-records/ 

 

The British Library Manuscripts and Archives 

https://www.bl.uk/subjects/manuscripts-and-archives 

 

National Army Museum UK 

https://www.nam.ac.uk/ 

 

https://collection.nam.ac.uk/ 

 

Forces War Records UK 

https://www.forces-war-records.co.uk/crimean-war-records 

 

Russian Archives

https://www.russianarchives.com/search/?films_en_v3%5Brange%5D%5BreleaseDate%5D=1913%3A&films_en_v3%5BrefinementList%5D%5Bcolor%5D%5B0%5D=Color&films_en_v3%5Bquery%5D=Criman%20War

 

Wilson Centre Archive

https://www.wilsoncenter.org/issue/archives

 

Sources on the W&J Library Database 

Archive Grid 

https://researchworks.oclc.org/archivegrid/ 

 

AM Explorer 

https://www.am-explorer.com/ 

 

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection 

 https://web.p.ebscohost.com/ehost/search/advanced?vid=0&sid=d5c9223b-0190-49a2-8952-d4717f89a566%40redis 

 

Gale Primary Sources 

19th Century U.S. Newspapers. Covers 1800 to 1900 

https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=NCNP&u=wash63865 

https://go.gale.com/ps/aboutThisCollection?p=GDSC&u=wash63865&mCode=4LKZ&sid=GDSC 

https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=NCCO&u=wash63865 

 

Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2003   

https://go.gale.com/ps/start.do?p=ILN&u=wash63865 

 

University of Pittsburgh Digital Collections

https://digital.library.pitt.edu/

 

Heinz History Centre, Pittsburgh

https://www.heinzhistorycenter.org/research/detre-library-archives/