Skip to main content
Link to Washington and Jefferson College

Library of Congress classification: Home

Finding what you want: how to read LC call numbers to find materials in the Library.

What's where in our library

WHAT IS CATALOGED IN LC?

The Library’s circulating and reference books and the video and music collections are filed in the Library of Congress classification system. 

Books with a Call Number from A through E are on the Upper Floor.

Books with a Call Number from F through Z are on the Lower Floor.

 

WHAT IS IN DEWEY DECIMAL?

Some of the Library collections are in the Dewey Decimal classification system:

W&J and Historical Collection,

Instructional Resource Collection
(Children’s Collection),

Microfilm Book Collection.

 

PERIODICAL AND PLAYS

Periodicals and the Play Collection are filed by title.

LC classes

LC CLASSES

LC arranges books and other materials by subject into one of the Main Classes shown below. 

Subclasses usually have two letters while Law can have three letters.

      A         General Works 

      B         Philosophy. Psychology. Religion 

      C         Auxiliary Sciences of History 

      D         World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa,

                        Australia, New Zealand, etc. 

      E         History of the Americas 

      F         History of the Americas 

      G         Geography. Anthropology. Recreation 

      H         Social Sciences   

      J         Political Science 

      K         Law 

      L         Education 

      M         Music and Books on Music 

      N         Fine Arts

      P         Language and Literature 

      Q         Science 

      R         Medicine 

      S         Agriculture 

      T         Technology 

      U         Military Science

      V         Naval Science 

      Z         Bibliography. Library Science. Information Resources (General

We're here to help

John Henderson's picture
John Henderson
Contact:
Part-time Librarian
Washington & Jefferson College
U. Grant Miller Library
60 S. Lincoln Ave.
Washington, PA 15301
724-223-6070
Website / Blog Page

More help for you

We have labels that show the call number range on book shelf ends to help you locate the call number you are looking for.

Ask our Reference Librarians or staff at theUser Services Desk for help.

Finding the items you want in LC requires some knowledge of LC class letters and call numbers. Keep reading for a more detailed explanation of how LC classification works.