Skip to main content
Link to Washington and Jefferson College

Green Sheet: Vol. VII, Number 2: October 2018

This newsletter will communicate the news of faculty and staff, update everyone on campus events, and welcome new colleagues to campus. Use the online form to submit good news, achievements, and spread the word about important events to our community.

College Announcements

  • W&J Arts Series presents Core Ensemble's “Los Valientes” on Thursday, Oct. 25, 2018, 7:30 p.m. at Olin Theatre.  "Los Valientes" is a chamber music theater production for a solo actor and musical trio (cello, piano, percussion) exploring the artistic and political passions of Diego Rivera, the unwavering commitment to human rights of Salvadoran Archbishop Oscar Romero, and the pursuit of social justice by Mexican American desperado Joaquin Murrieta aka Zorro. The text is by Jose Cruz Gonzalez. Music for this show features songs and concert/vernacular music by a wide range of Latin American composers including Astor Piazzolla and Osvaldo Golijov. Tickets are available for FREE with W&J ID. Please call 724-223-6546 Monday through Friday, noon to 6 p.m. to reserve.

News

  • The Biology Club held its first event of the year on Friday, Sept. 7.  The social for new and returning biology students was organized by the officers of the club: Nate Tang, Aaron Kendrik, Halea Kohl, and Frank Kelly, and Dr. Alice Lee, Biology Club Advisor. 


  • Dr. Alice Lee, Professor of Biology, took her "Music of Life" FYS class to hear her play on the South Hills Multi-Organist recital on Sept. 23 at St. Paul's Episcopal Church in Mt. Lebanon. Dr. Lee played a Brahms chorale prelude and a Mendelssohn organ sonata.  The other four recitalists are organists at area churches and Trinity Cathedral.  The evening continued with an Italian dinner at a restaurant in the South Hills. 

 

Scholarship

  • Dr. Charles Hannon, Professor of Computing and Information Studies, published "Avoiding Bias in Robot Speech" in the recent issue of Interactions magazine. You can read the article here.

  • Dr. James March, Associate Professor of Biology, is one of the authors on the recently published paper "Effects of urbanization on population structure of freshwater turtles across the United States" in Conservation Biology that is now available in the print edition. In September, a grant from the Washington County Community Foundation of $2,500 allowed March to continue the project "Monitoring Water Quality of the Abernathy Field Station and Connecting to Nature through Photography." Also in September, he presented "Engaging children in science and art through photography at the Abernathy Field Station” at the 53rd Annual Meeting of the Organization of Biological Field Stations. 

HR News

  • Please join us for our Annual Benefits Open Enrollment Fair on Wednesday, Oct. 17! We will have 17 different vendors for employees to meet with. Employees will have the chance to win several prizes! Free Flu Shots will be given to Highmark members. To receive your free flu shot at the fair at a preferred time, please pre-register by using the following link:

    FLU SHOT REGISTRATION


  • We would like to highlight the following employee who was nominated over the last month in our Employee Recognition Program. Congratulations and keep up the great work!

    • Valon Sleith, Facilities Services


  • Please welcome the following employees who have joined W&J:
    • Donovan Ealy, Facilities Services (Sept. 26)
    • Nicole Focareto, Vice President for Enrollment (Oct. 15)

  • Please congratulate the following employees who have milestone service anniversaries in the month of October:
    • Jessica Reams, Business & Finance--1 year (Oct. 4)
    • Harry Elenitsas, Campus & Public Safety--10 years (Oct. 14)

  • The following employees are departing W&J. We wish them the best in their future endeavors. 
    • Emily Brzustowicz, Admissions (Sept. 19)
    • Tyler Tenney, Student Life (Oct. 5)
    • Kaley Wood, Human Resources (Oct. 17)

Library Times

Library is Open!

The library opened on Monday, Sept. 24 at 8 a.m. and resumed normal operating hours and services. However, there are areas that still need to be completed and we ask for patience while the contractor and our staff finish the renovation. An official Grand Opening and Dedication will occur in the future. We are receiving positive feedback from students, faculty, and staff and love showing off our new building, so stop in and see us!

Database of the Month: AVON

Academic Video Online provides unlimited remote access to more than 63,000 (and growing) videos all cross-searchable from a single platform. The database includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films. AVON can be accessed through our Databases A-Z portal. If you would like more information on this resource, please contact Beth Miller

Fall Break Hours

The library will be open during Fall Break and Homecoming weekend, but our hours will be different. Please see the calendar on our Home Page for specific modified hours.

New Circulation Policy

Great news! Along with the physical library updates, we have also updated our circulation policies for faculty & staff to fall in line with the academic calendar. DVDs can be checked out for 1 week, IRC materials for 3 weeks, and books for the entire semester! If needed, items can be renewed one time. If you have any questions, please contact Director of Library Services Ronalee Ciocco. 

New Acquisitions

The following titles have been added to our collection:

Books

  • The Accusation; Forbidden Stories from Inside Korea by Bandi
  • Out of China: How the Chinese Ended the Era of Western Domination by Robert Bickers

DVDs

  • Life in a Day (National Geographic documentary)
  • Fruitvale Station (starring Michael B Jordan and Octavia Spencer)

 

College Archives

October must be Library Renovation Month!! This article appeared in the Oct. 18, 1987 Red and Black. It describes the addition of the new security system for the library to hinder the loss of material. Stop by the User Services Desk to see that the sensitizing machine is still in use!