Electronic Resources -- A to Z List: All resources
Licensed electronic resources, including indexing and abstracting databases, electronic reference tools, and individual e-journal subscriptions. Found a broken link? Contact Jeff Brunner (firstname.lastname@example.org)
Burney Collection of newspapers has been digitized by the British Library and it includes 1.5 million full text primary source documents, newspapers, and Acts of Parliament. Supports historical research in political and business history, literary history, genealogy, British and Colonial history.
The 19th Century database offers a full-text searchable collection of 500 U.S. newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. Covers the American Civil War, slavery, African-American culture. Some of the newspapers were published by Native Americans, and women's rights groups.
A union catalog of archival collections, provides access to nearly a million collection descriptions and online archival finding aids of archival material from more than 2,500 libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives around the world. Good destination for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories.
Covers fine, commercial art, sculpture, architecture and more. Provides full-text articles from 630 journals dating back to 1990. Offers a collection of over 63,000 art images, film and performance reviews. EBSCO.
NAS mission is to conserve and restore natural ecosystems, focusing on birds, other wildlife, and their habitats for the benefit of humanity and the earth’s biological diversity. Provides a link to the online Audubon Magazine. NAS.
Online Chronicle provides daily news of interest to faculty, administrators and students in higher education. Includes access to the annual Almanac of Higher Education with demographic data on schools, teaching, education and salaries. CHE.
Searchable collection of 350 digitized Pennsylvania county and regional histories and atlases published during the last quarter of the 19th century and first half of the 20th century. It includes biographies, street maps, vital statistics, and views of urban and rural life. Gale.
This database is great for background information. It provides access to more than 630 full-text reference books and over 3 million full-text entries. It covers literary criticism in detail, business, history, Shakespeare, biographies. Credo.
An objective source of information for those who track environmental and energy action in Congress. Covers clean air legislation, public lands policy, even pending Congressional legislation. Includes some video reports. E&E.
More than 850 eBooks and 3,900 publicly accessible eBooks are available to W&J ID card holders through our subscription. eBooks cover topics such as: business, health, and science. Browse holdings in Geotom catalog by typing NetLibrary as author. EBSCO.
Opens to links to 21 full-text databases from EBSCO ranging from education, health, regional business news, and psychology. A great database to start your research. Covers more than 3,500 journals. EBSCO.
Database from the American Economics Association provides full-text articles (or links to the full-text) in all fields of economics, including capital markets, economic forecasting, labor economics and monetary theory. Database covers 1,400 sources 1969 to present. EBSCO.
Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly journals. Includes bibliographic information and images of articles. Subjects range from economics and science to social sciences. Database covers 5,390 sources with 3.6 million records from 1995 to present. OCLC.
Covers the science, methodologies, technologies, applications and history of magnetic resonance. It covers techniques for: MRI, MRS, NMR and ESR. Over 11,000 articles have been published in eMagRes. Wiley Online Library.
This full-text database is designed to bring readers broad and insightful coverage on the business and political issues of the energy industry such as oil sands, deep-water and arctic drilling legislative issues. E&E.
Database documents the civil rights group's mission with over 4,000 digitized images of surveillance reports, chronologies, from the FBI Investigation Library. Offers a great collection of primary source documents on civil rights, desegregation, and African American studies. Gale.
GVRL is an online library of reference eBooks, including many titles from academic book publishers. The database is multidisciplinary with strengths in world and American history, literature, and economics. A great database to start your research. Gale.
The U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) Monthly Catalog provides citations of U.S. government publications. Covers all types of documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and judiciary materials. Database has 507,000 records from 1976 to present.
This multidisciplinary research database covers environment, energy and natural resources. Offers international coverage and includes articles from 700 authoritative journals plus newspapers, videos, podcasts, images. Gale.
Grove Music Online is an online resource that covers all aspects of music. Database includes the full-text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians 2nd ed., plus additional music texts. GMO offers over 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies. Grove.
Database offers full-text of more than 540 journals and 140 books from 2,800 journals in many languages. Historical Abstracts is unmatched in its scope of history of the world from 1450 forward. Coverage of articles goes back as far as 1953 and includes world history, military history, women’s history, and topics in anthropology and the social sciences. EBSCO.
ICPSR, the Inter-university Consortium for
Political and Social Research, offers a large social science data archive. It acts as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources in sociology. ICPSR.
Database provides full-text of more than 600 of the world's top newspapers and wire services, including El Pais, BBC Monitoring, and Asian Wall Street Journal. Most of the newspaper coverage is from 2003 forward. ProQuest.
JESS is the official publication for the Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences.provides a peer-reviewed, source for articles in environmental research, policy analysis and advocacy. SpringerLink.
Full online text of back issues of about 450 peer-reviewed journals as far back as the 1800s in the arts, sciences, ecology, botany, language, literature, and music. A great place to start your research. Multidisciplinary.
A comprehensive, reliable online resource for articles on literature from all time periods and parts of the world. LRC offers over 800,000 full-text articles from 390 scholarly journals and literary magazines. Offers some primary sources, literary criticism and reviews.Start your literature research here. Gale.
National Library of Medicine's Medline offers abstracts from all areas of medicine, including dentistry, nursing, psychiatry, toxicology, and health service administration. Database covers 19,000 sources from 1950 to present. NLM.
Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations in literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts. Covers 4,400 international journals with 1.8 million citations from the mid 1920s to present. Provides links to full -ext of more than 140,000 articles. EBSCO.
Full-text of 28 national and international newspapers, selected full-text for more than 260 regional newspapers, and some full-text television and radio news transcripts. Coverage varies by newspaper with some beginning 2000 to present. EBSCO.
Contains searchable full-text articles from the New York Times newspaper with coverage of national, and international news. Library holds NYT on microfilm from 1851 forward and retains paper issues until microfilm arrives. Search for articles with our print indexes from 1851 forward. ProQuest.
Database offers primary source documents about international relations between Asian countries and the West during the 19th century. Documents include government reports, diplomatic correspondence, periodicals, newspapers, treaties, trade agreements, maps, and personal letters. Use the drop-down menu to select the database you want to search. Gale.
Database offers access to papers of British statesmen and Prime Ministers, Home Office records, and much more. It is a remarkable resource for scholars looking to explore the political and social history of Britain. Use the drop-down menu to select the database you want to search. Gale.
Database offers a wide range of primary sources detailing the arts in Great Britain during the 19th century. It includes the full-text of 150 publications and more than 3,000 manuscripts from theatre archives of playbills and scripts to music archives of operas. Use the drop-down menu to select the database you want to search. Gale.
Contains searchable full-text English, German and French literature titles from the Castle Corvey Collection. An important archive of Romantic era writing and includes fiction, short prose, dramatic works, poetry and more. Use the drop-down menu to select the database you want to search. Gale.
Website is published by the French organization Numérisation de documents anciens mathématiques and it offers open access to the metadata and articles published in many historic mathematical publications. It covers 35 journals, 29 seminars, and 5 memoires. Numdam.
Open Archives Initative is a multidisciplinary database of bibliographic records representing digital resources. It contains no textual content but allows users to search the web for collections such as digitized books, theses, and audio files. It includes more than 30 million records of digital resources. OCLC.
This eJournal disseminates high quality papers focusing on the intersection of physics and engineering. Topics of interest include quantum mechanics, biophysics, bioengineering, device physics, energy technology,and more. American Physical Society.
APA database contains citations and abstracts of journal articles in psychology, anthropology, nursing, education, psychiatry, medicine, pharmacology, and sociology. Covers 2,100 journals with 2.3 million citations from 1887 to present. Best database to start psychology research. APA.
Provides indexing and abstracts of articles from 450 popular magazines as far back as 1983 Subject coverage includes arts, business, computers, education, current events and news and more. Has only a few peer-reviewed periodicals. Multidisciplinary. EBSCO.
Manage all of your references and citations efficiently in a personal database you can access anytime. Compile your citations in MLA, APA, or Chicago styles as you write your paper, then let RefWorks generate your bibliography in minutes. Create a username/password the first time you log-in. ProQuest.
Full-text database that includes more than 80 regional business publications covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States and Canada. Most of these sources are in full-text from 1996 to current. EBSCO.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature offers a comprehensive music database featuring citations, abstracts and indexes. It covers articles in 10,000 journals. Includes over 800,000 records
Click "Linked Full-Text” box to find full-text articles. EBSCO.
This full-text collection includes 73 peer-reviewed journals covering subjects such as childhood, sociology, gender studies, and Social Theory. Journal coverage from January 1999 to the present. A good place to start sociology research. Sage.
Covers about 2,600 peer-reviewed journals in medicine, health, life sciences, psychology, arts, humanities, education, business, economics, and social sciences. Most articles are full-text. Use Advanced Search mode. Elsevier.
NEW USERS - SET UP YOUR USER NAME AND PASSWORD HERE.
Retrieves information from databases produced by Chemical Abstracts Service. Covers polymer science, food science, biology, life sciences, and GenBank numbers plus many CAS databases.
Offers quality statistical data on 60,000 topics from over 10,000 American and international sources.
Statista includes quantitative data on consumer goods, natural resources, sports, polls, employment, and demographics. Statista.
Chemical Abstracts from STN offers 100 searchable files covering: biology, engineering, patents, physics, medicine, chemical inventory lists, MSDS, and chemical toxicity. Access to STN Easy is restricted to: 1 am Sunday to 5 am Monday; 5 pm to 5 am the following day Monday through Friday; 5 pm Friday to 10 pm Saturday. CAS.
Database contains searchable full-text of articles from 1984 to present from the Wall Street Journal, the world's leading business and financial newspaper. (Library also has current 2 months in print holdings and holdings from 1958 to current in microfilm with the corresponding print indexes.) ProQuest.
Database of journal citations and abstracts of articles from scholarly journals in the sciences. political science, history, and sociology. Database contains more than 12,000 journals with nearly 3 million records from 1988 to present. Most articles are full-text. Thomson.
This database is an authoritative source of information about all aspects of law and court cases. Provides expert analysis from hundreds of law reviews and journals, and includes full-text legislation, regulations, statutes, and court decisions. Database includes searchable U.S. and international newspapers. Westlaw.
The world’s largest online union catalog of library holdings from 82 nations with bibliographic records that represent about 2 billion items held by participating libraries. The catalog was developed by librarians and connects library users to bibliographic records of books, e-books, and periodicals. WorldCat provides accurate item citations for Interlibrary loan requests. Source: OCLC.
Bibliographic citations of all dissertations and theses cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Database includes 8 million records from the late 19th century to current. Dissertations cover all subjects. Some dissertations include an abstract. OCLC.
Full-text content of hundreds of books by women writers throughout history. Includes novels, poems, letters, and biographies. Browse or search by author name. Some books are in foreign languages. By Mary Mark, Univ. of Pennsylvania.
Chicago 16th edition. Citation examples are shown for the Author-Date system which is recommended for the physical, natural and social sciences. From the Writing Lab & The OWL at Purdue and Purdue University.
This online dictionary provides reliable access to millions of English definitions, spellings, and word origins. Dictionary includes a link to hear pronunciation of words in English, a handy thesaurus and a word translator for sixteen popular languages. It also has a link to Babbel, an online program that helps you speak, write, and understand some languages. Sources include the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, and Collins English Dictionary - Complete & Unabridged.
The E&E Reports are arranged under topics such as: global climate debate, pipeline politics, drought, Gulf spill, sequestration, underground drilling, greenhouse gas emissions, and old-growth logging. You can search for full-text news and video interviews either by topic or in the combined Reports cluster. Updated daily and covers 1996 through current.
This E&E daily broadcast focuses on energy and environmental policy. View the video interviews or search full-text transcripts of the broadcast's insights from top people from the environmental and energy fields, academics and authors, and industry and environmental leaders. Features the people who make and influence the policy decisions you care about. Updated daily and covers 1996 through current. Sign up for daily alerts. E&E Pub.
This full-text searchable database is an objective source of information for those who track environmental and energy action in Congress. Find information on clean air legislation, public lands policy, even pending Congressional legislation on these issues. Includes some video reports. Updated daily and covers 1996 through current. Sign up for daily alerts. E&E Pub.
Provides links that connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Includes images of archival documents, archaeological sites, and artifacts from prehistoric and ancient Europe. Brigham Young University.
This online dictionary has a dictionary, thesaurus, and includes dictionaries on medical, legal, and financial topics and fourteen foreign languages. Provides the derivation and usage of a word. Includes a link to hear pronunciation of a word in English or in any of the translated languages.
Sources include: American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language and American Heritage® Roget's Thesaurus.
The ipl2 Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period. Search by author, title or literary period. ipl2 site is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science & Technology, and a consortium of colleges and universities.
LoC's audio archive library. This library contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings. Includes some recorded speeches.
Oyez Project from Chicago-Kent aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955.
Persuasions: The Jane Austen Journal
This journal of The Jane Austen Society of North America is dedicated to the enjoyment and appreciation of the English novelist Jane Austen and her romantic fiction. The Society’s mission is to foster among the widest number of readers the study, appreciation, and understanding of Jane Austen’s works, her life, and her genius. Persuasions in print is published in June and a different on-line version is published in December. Search the full-text of issues with links below. Volume numbers identify the on-line version. Persuasions: The Jane Austen Journal (print) with limited number of full-text articles: no.1 (1979) - no. 36 (2014). Persuasions: The Jane Austen Journal (on-line) most articles are in full-text: vol. 20 (1999) - vol. 36 (2015). Our Literature Resource Center database with full-text: no. 22 (2000) - no. 36 (2013) with the exception of the most recent issue.
Project Gutenberg offers over 49,000 free, high quality ebooks. All of their titles were previously published by bona fide publishers. They digitize and proofread their online collection with the help of thousands of volunteers. Over 100,000 free ebooks are available through their Partners, Affiliates and Resources sites in Europe, Australia, Germany and Canada. Volunteers are also facilitating online publishing by contemporary authors. This service is bringing the Project Gutenberg moniker to authors in virtually any genre or subject. When you are searching for a book that you cannot find in our physical collection or in Project Gutenberg your solution is to request it by Interlibrary Loan.
PubMed offers free, online access to the National Institute of Medicine’s MEDLINE databases. The site provides access to citations and abstracts from biomedical literature. If a publisher has a web site that offers full-text of its journals, PubMed provides links to that site as well as biological resources, consumer health information, research tools, and more. While there are some free full-text articles available, many publishers charge a fee for access to full-text.
Reference and User Services Association of ALA, created a guide to help students understand what primary sources actually are, where to find them on the web, how to cite web sources, and how to evaluate them as legitimate web sites.
Search the Digital Gallery which offers over 800,000 images digitized from the NYPL's vast collections of illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, rare prints, and photographs. New York Public Library.