FAQsFloor PlanPoliciesStaff Directory
Interlibrary Loan Request FormsILL FAQsBorrowing Libraries
This is the "Archives" page of the "U. Grant Miller Library website" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

U. Grant Miller Library website  

Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.washjeff.edu/home Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Archives Print Page
  Search: 
 

The U. Grant Miller Library Digital Archives

  • The U. Grant Miller Library Digital Archives
    The U. Grant Miller Library Digital Archives is a multimedia exhibition of materials from the Learned T. Bulman '48 Historic Archives & Museum at Washington & Jefferson College. The Archives & Special Collections Library houses items related to the College and its history as well as a large collection of manuscripts and other material related to 18th and 19th century history of the United States, with an emphasis on Southwestern Pennsylvania.

Additional Historical Resources

In addition to the resources in the Archives, researchers may find the following organizations useful regarding genealogy and local history.

 

Learned T. Bulman '48 Historic Archives & Museum

The Learned T. Bulman '48 Historic Archives & Museum houses items related to Washington & Jefferson College and its history, and a large collection of manuscripts and other material related to the 18th- and 19th- century history of the United States, with an emphasis on Southwestern Pennsylvania.

HOURS
Fall and Spring Semesters
Monday - Friday: 10 am to 4 pm
Weekends: appointment only

Summer Semester
Monday - Friday: noon to 3 pm
Weekends: closed

Please contact the College Archivist, Amy Welch (awelch@washjeff.edu, 724-223-6048) for appointments, particularly during high volume times, like homecoming and commencement.

 

Donation / Policy Information

Before using archival materials, all visitors are asked to agree to the following list of regulations and to fill out a registration form. A request form is required for each Archives request.

  • Due to space limitations, generally no more than 2 patrons may be served in the Archives at any one time.
  • Items in the College Archives do not circulate. These items may be used only in the supervised Archives reading area. The College Archives reserves the right to limit the use of fragile or deteriorating material that may be further damaged by handling or photocopying. However, whenever possible, information will be made available for viewing.
  • Materials are to be handled with great care and the use of gloves may be required.
  • Personal belongings are limited to pencils and notebooks. All other personal items will be stored in a secure location.
  • Pens and markers are not permitted.
  • Permission must be granted for the use of computers, cameras, tape recorders and other special equipment.
  • Eating, drinking and smoking are not permitted.
  • Depending on available staff, in-depth research may be limited and is at the discretion of the archivist.
  • Requested materials may be limited to 3 at any one time and will be retrieved by staff.

DONATIONS

The Learned T. Bulman '48 Historic Archives & Museum welcomes gifts but accepts them with the understanding that it has the right to handle or dispose of them in the best interest of the institution.  Such material may be added to the collection provided it meets the standards of selection.  Gifts are accepted unconditionally, and once given they cannot be returned to the donor.

If you are interested in making a donation, please contact Amy Welch (awelch@washjeff.edu, 724-223-6048).

RESEARCH, REPRODUCTION, AND PUBLICATION POLICIES

Research:  The Learned T. Bulman '48 Archives & Museum does charge for research services. After the initial one hour, a $10.00 per hour fee is charged for staff research time. This fee is waived for the College community and alumni.

Reproduction:  Photocopying requests should be made to the staff and approved by the librarian. Copying will be done for the patron only when materials are not placed at risk. The charge is .10 per page. Efforts will be made to fulfill photocopy orders as promptly as possible. If necessary, copies will be mailed with an additional postage and handling fee.  Digital copies of images for personal use are supplied as an email attachment or on CD for $10.00 per image. This fee is waived for the College community and alumni. Under normal circumstances the cost of shipping and handling of CDs is covered by the $10.00 scanning fee.

Publication:  To publish, use in film, mount on a website, or exhibit original material from the Archives, you must submit your request in writing and direct it to the College Archivist. This permission is granted for one-time use only, in one publication, exhibit, or activity, in one edition, and in one language. Each use of materials must be accompanied by proper credit to The Learned T. Bulman '48 Historic Archives & Museum, Washington & Jefferson College.  In granting permission, the Historic Archives & Museum neither surrenders its rights to exhibit, publish, or otherwise reproduce the materials, nor to grant permission to others to do so.

We're here to help

Profile Image
Amy Welch
College Archivist &
Outreach Librarian
Contact Info
724-223-6048
Send Email
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip